PDA

View Full Version : Kubuntu vs. Ubuntu for wife's 1st distro

timzak
November 26th, 2008, 06:48 PM
My wife is currently using Win2k. Eventually, it will become so outdated as to lose functionality. When that time comes, I plan to switch her over to a Linux-based distro. I'd say she's pretty savvy with a computer, though it's not something she spends a lot of time on except for Picasa, Facebook, OpenOffice and Hallmark Greetings (MS Publisher-like program). There are Linux versions for all her apps except for the Hallmark program.

At any rate, I'm wondering what would be closer to Win2k in terms of interface--Kubuntu or Ubuntu? At the same time, I have zero experience with the KDE DE, and since I will be maintaining the system, using Kubuntu might be a bit of a learning curve for both of us.

What would be your advice? Switch her to Ubuntu (I'm very familiar with the Gnome desktop); or switch her to Kubuntu? I guess I could just keep her on Win2k until security updates stop, as well.

I'd likely stick to 8.04 LTS no matter which DE I choose.

Any comments appreciated.

Sand & Mercury
November 26th, 2008, 06:52 PM
Ubuntu is much easier to set up to be like Windows, and it's much simpler to use too.

SunnyRabbiera
November 26th, 2008, 06:53 PM
well KDE is more close to windows in terms of interface, at least KDE3 (KDE4 seems to be combo of vista and OSX)
But I dont think gnome would scare her off, its a simple interface and does its job well.
So my choice is standard ubuntu, though if you wish i suggest installing kde3 though dont load the kubuntu packages.

Ub1476
November 26th, 2008, 06:53 PM
It doesn't really matter much. Both Gnome and KDE 3.5 are stable and good DEs and both can run the same apps. If I were to choose however, it would be Ubuntu. Simply because you're more familiar with it and it's the "most official" Ubuntu.

SunnyRabbiera
November 26th, 2008, 06:59 PM