PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] SQUASHFS error?

TheKramer
November 26th, 2008, 08:58 AM
Ok, I've been having lots of problems as a first time Ubuntu installer (well, attempted installer). Thanks to LOTS of help so far on these forums, I'm where I'm at now.

I've been trying to install Ubuntu or Xubuntu... 8.10 or 8.04 of either with no luck. When I do actually get the CD to boot... and when I select install...

I eventually receive a LOT of lines that look like:
SQUASHFS error: Unable to read page, block [letters/digits], size [letters/digits]
SQUASHFS error: sb_bread failed reading block [letters/digits]

I also saw something like:
BUS error: core dumped

Later I saw more of those SQUASHFS errors followed by something listed as [Fail] but it happened to fast to read.

More of those SQUASHFS errors are piling up.

Any thoughts?

Note: this isn't a checksum issue, or an error on the disk, or a RAM issue, all of those have been addressed and/or checked.

I'm not an expert, but does this mean my HDD is corrupted? If it is, is the HDD ruined? Do I just need to buy another, or is there a way to reset/"fix" the HDD so I can install Ubuntu or Xubuntu?

Thanks in advance!

heidfirst
November 26th, 2008, 10:27 AM
Hi,

I have much the same problem with one of my computers. It has two internal hard drives one for linux and one for windows xp.

It is currently running 7.10 gutsy, but wherever i try to upgrade or fresh install 8.04 or 8.10 the live cd just ends up spewing out squashfs errors all the time and I can do nothing with it.

In the end I re installed gutsy and it works fine.

So although I cannot help with squashfs problem, I would say that it is unlikely that your hard drive is broken.

For info the pc I have problems with is based on a amd athlon xp2200 512mb ram on a giga-byte motherboard that was made in ~2002. It has a nvidia 6200 graphics card.