PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Power out during update

Evil Overlord
November 25th, 2008, 09:58 PM
Ubuntu 8.10 fresh install on Gateway 7422GX laptop

Complete newb to Linux

Once I (somehow) got wireless to work...

I started the update manager, which downloaded 103 updates. Once downloaded, I started installing. Partway through, my laptop abruptly closed down (as it sometimes does - unrelated to OS).

I restarted, and opened up the update manager again. It said I could install 39 updates (top of the list is libxml2-utils).
- I click the 'Install Updates' button.
- Message box: An error occured:
E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure - a' to correct the problem.
E: _cache->open() failed, please report.

- I open terminal, and type sudo dpkg --configure -a (because without sudo, I'm told the operation requires superuser privilege).
- I get: "Parse error, in file 'var/lib/dpkg/updates/0034' near line 1: newline in field name 'padding' "
- I tried running gedit on var/lib/dpkg/updates/0034, but gedit said it couldn't open the file. (I tried various encodings).

Help! I can't install any more updates.

taurus
November 25th, 2008, 10:06 PM
Perhaps try running these.

sudo apt-get -f install
sudo dpkg --configure -a
sudo apt-get update

Evil Overlord
November 25th, 2008, 10:15 PM
Perhaps try running these.

sudo apt-get -f install
sudo dpkg --configure -a
sudo apt-get update

On the 1st: E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' to crrect the problem.
2nd: as before, parse error...
3rd: I get a long list of Hit and Ign, and then the same error. "E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' to crrect the problem."

I found this referring to the same problem in 7.10: https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/xubuntu-devel/2008-January/004877.html

Note that trying gksudo says that --configure is an unrecognized option.

Evil Overlord
November 26th, 2008, 12:01 AM