PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 8.10 freezes on startup (before login)

skutterz
November 25th, 2008, 09:26 PM
Hi all

I'm pretty new to Linux (used it off an on for a while, but never been that knowlegable about terminals and commands etc.), and I've just built myself a new desktop (see spec below). I was hoping to duel boot XP with Ubuntu (something I've done before), using Ubuntu as my main system and XP for those programs I couldn't run on Ubuntu.

Anyway, XP installed ok, and I went to install Ubuntu 8.10 (64 bit desktop), but it hung on a plain, off white screen (with no mouse cursor) when I booted up the live CD, after the progress bar screen. I got past this by restarting and using the boot parameter 'acpi=off', got a message telling me it was running in low graphics mode: "(EE) RADEON(0): Acceleration initialization failed", and managed to install it ok (and left me with a working system). I then shut the machine down as it was getting late. However, when I booted it back up, I got the same off white screen. I figured this was for the same reason as with the live CD, and added the same boot parameter (temporarily) to Grub, but to no avail.

I thought this might have something to do with Ubuntu trying to use the wrong drivers for my graphics card, but when I tried to update them (from the command line, obtained through grubs recovery mode), it couldn't seem to see an internet connection (which is working, as XP can see it).

There seem to be a lot of other people out there with similar problems, but most of them seem different to mine in one way or another.
Any advice you can give me on this issue would be really appreciated, as I really want to switch to Ubuntu from Windows. I would try installing 8.04, but I really don't want to have to re-install XP again.

My system is:
Mobo: Asus P5Q-E
CPU: Intel Q6600 Duo Quad Core
GPU: ATi Radeon HD 4870 1GB
RAM: 4GB CAS 4 Corsair
HDD: 1TB Samsung Spinpoint

Cheers,
Skutterz

rich.bradshaw