PDA

View Full Version : Meeting The Enemy Face To Face

lukjad
November 25th, 2008, 04:03 PM
I remember it like it was last week....

This isn't a pretty story, but then again, I'm not a pretty guy. I was casing the joint, looking for anything of value. I knew this place, it's not the kind of place you would take a classy dame. I walked in front of the joint for awhile, looking for any traps. Was that glance directed at me, hoping I would come in, or was it just an innocent glance? I don't have the luxury in my line of work to trust people, but I had to go in there.

I'm a professional, I take chances. I adjusted my Fedora hat, and, steeling my nerves, I gently eased the door open. Slipping my hand in my trench coat, I walked in, my hand securely on my secret weapon. As I sauntered over to the "merchandise" I listened for any telltale signs of danger. As I bent over it, I noticed another "customer". He looked like one tough cookie. He had the swagger down pat, and that leer. I would have to keep an eye on him.

We both seemed to be looking at the same thing. It was a pathetic specimen, kind of old and weak. The only good point was the price. It came with some accessories I didn't need, but I could fix that later. Taking another glance, I sidled over to the desk. I was just going to leave when I noticed that the other customer. I nodded and he mentioned that he was almost done with it.