PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How To Make A Website Server?

hollisterdude94
November 25th, 2008, 06:20 AM
I would like to turn my 5 year old desktop server into a website server. I have already installed Ubuntu Desktop version to the computer. I have no experience making a server since I have always just purchased a Linux server from other companys. I am familiar with basic commands in Ubuntu though.

The computer I have has a 100GB hard drive and 512mb memory.

I want to be able to have mysql and php 5 on the server. I also want to have some kind of control panel for each site that I host on the server (the controls panel needs to be free though) and I am not sure what control panel to choose.

I would need step by step slow instructions from start to finish since I am a newbie :lolflag: If anyone could help that would be great and I would really appreciate it.

rev0lv3r
November 25th, 2008, 06:32 AM
Sounds like you want to set up a LAMP stack

Maybe include Webmin for your control panel? Not sure what you are asking?
phpmyadmin?

Take a look at some of these google results
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&client=firefox-a&rls=com.ubuntu%3Aen-US%3Aunofficial&hs=FOB&q=8.10+ubuntu+apache+mysql+php&btnG=Search

You will be delighted to know that setting up a FULL linux+apache2+php5+mysql5+phpmyadmin+webmin+cacti+ ssh+trac+svn is a complete walk-in-the-park

linux - os
apache2 - web server
mysql - db server
php5 - front end scripting
phpmyadmin - remotely work on the db
webmin - remotely work on the server
cacti - monitoring + graphing
ssh - remotely work in the computer
trac - project management, see revisions in a neat format
svn - project mangement, repository software

hollisterdude94
November 25th, 2008, 06:58 AM