PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Error installing Ftp Server Proftpd

Sarethan
November 24th, 2008, 08:50 PM
I am brand new to Ubuntu and like it so far. After several attempts to migrate from Windows to Linux i think i finally have it. I was a bit confused as how to fix this problem. While trying to get an ftp server to run in Ubuntu, i chose Proftpd but noticed that i kept getting errors that in the details stated (E; system-tools-backends: subprocess post-installation script returned error exit status 1) Now have working,building,selling, computers since the age of 6 and am now 23 but that made no sense to me and i don't know what to do or where to start. Can anyone help me out?

cariboo
November 24th, 2008, 08:56 PM
There apparently is a bug in system-tools-backends. See Bug# 294389 (https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/system-tools-backends/+bug/294389).

The work around to fix the problem is:

***TEMPORARY WORKAROUND***
After the upgrade has failed, you will get an error every time you run dpkg or apt-get saying that system-tools-backends is not configured. "sudo dpkg --configure -a" will not fix this. To recover, please perform the following 2 steps:

1) sudo invoke-rc.d system-tools-backends stop
2) sudo dpkg --configure -a

***TEST CASE FOR SRU***
1) With current version (2.6.0-1ubuntu1.1) of system-tools-backends installed, open up 2 terminals.
2) In the first terminal, type "users-admin", but don't press enter to run it yet.
3) In the second terminal, run "sudo apt-get install --reinstall system-tools-backends".
4) As soon as this line appears in the second terminal, hit enter in the first terminal to run users-admin: "* Stopping System Tools Backends system-tools-backends"

The reinstall will fail. Once this has happened follow the workaround above to recover, then upgrade to 2.6.0-1ubuntu1.2.

Once upgraded, repeat steps 1 - 4, and note that the reinstall never fails.

Jim

Sarethan
November 25th, 2008, 03:20 AM