PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Kde3 Hardy -> Intrepid?



L815
November 24th, 2008, 02:21 PM
If I opt to update to Intrepid from Hardy Kde3, will the update upgrade kde to kde4?

riseringseeker
November 24th, 2008, 02:31 PM
If I opt to update to Intrepid from Hardy Kde3, will the update upgrade kde to kde4?

Searching here for "Intrepid KDE3" (without the quotes) brought up this:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=963695&highlight=intrepid+kde3

I use/used several KDE3 apps that seem to be missing from KDE4. I plan on using the info there to get back what I am missing, mainly the kworldclock (I do a lot of traveling, and it's a cool app) and kdict, a much better dictionary IMHO.

L815
November 24th, 2008, 02:40 PM
Searching here for "Intrepid KDE3" (without the quotes) brought up this:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=963695&highlight=intrepid+kde3

I use/used several KDE3 apps that seem to be missing from KDE4. I plan on using the info there to get back what I am missing, mainly the kworldclock (I do a lot of traveling, and it's a cool app) and kdict, a much better dictionary IMHO.

So, the only way to get kde3 on Intrepid is if I install kde3 with it; i already have kde3 now, and just want to know if I upgrade, will it stick.

Maybe I misread the thread, but it seems to be on how to install kde3 on Intrepid (unless you are implaying I can't upgrade with kde3). If I'm wrong don't take it the wrong way :)

riseringseeker
November 24th, 2008, 03:10 PM
So, the only way to get kde3 on Intrepid is if I install kde3 with it; i already have kde3 now, and just want to know if I upgrade, will it stick.

Maybe I misread the thread, but it seems to be on how to install kde3 on Intrepid (unless you are implaying I can't upgrade with kde3). If I'm wrong don't take it the wrong way :)

Upgrading to 8.10 will give you KDE4. The post referred to had a way to restore KDE3, but seems to be down at the moment due to a request by the KDE developers. The people involved are working on it.

L815
November 24th, 2008, 06:16 PM
Upgrading to 8.10 will give you KDE4. The post referred to had a way to restore KDE3, but seems to be down at the moment due to a request by the KDE developers. The people involved are working on it.

Alright, thanks for the quick response ):P

madscientist159
December 5th, 2008, 08:02 AM
It's back up! :)

http://apt.pearsoncomputing.net

If you find yourself missing any KDE3 packages, please let me know at kb9vqf@pearsoncomputing.net