PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] problems of intrepid ibex

jorge ortega
November 24th, 2008, 11:04 AM
I hope I am using the right forum the right way I'm totally new to this and this is my first help petition.
I recently started using Ubuntu Hardy Heron together with Windows vista in my PC. Happy enough with it, I'm trying to stop using Windows altogether. Two days ago I updated to Intrepidibex and it is just a disaster, many things go wrong. I want to go back to Hardy Heron, How do I do this? Can I downgrade or can I uninstall Ibex and then reinstall Heron with my live cd like the first time.
Please any instruction should not assume any knowlodege of computers. Any help would be very welcome, thanks in advance

clive littlewood
November 24th, 2008, 11:29 AM
Hi

If you wish to give us your problems i am sure that help will be given to you.

If you wish to go back to HH then hopefully you have or can backup any important data.

Then simply install HH from the original CD which will erase ibex and reformat your hard drive as you require.

Regards

Clve :)

jorge ortega
November 24th, 2008, 11:41 AM
Thanks Clive. I did a bit of research and it seems to me that it is not so easy. There seems to be something called grub that needs to be manually deleted or something. If I just reinstall HH would that not crash with II or create a third partition?

Bölvağur
November 24th, 2008, 11:42 AM
I hope I am using the right forum the right way

Um... sorry to say this but you are doing it wrong :lolflag: as you should have had more descriptive title (it seems like this thread is suffering from to low clicks per minute compared to others that do have good descriptive title).

Any way.

I have always said that people should not use the update option to go to the next release unless if they are ready to fix it afterwards.

It might also be that your hardware currently isn't too suitable for 8.10, so staying with 8.04 might be the easiest thing.