PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] system freezes/hangs, possibly Nvidia-related

Fipi
November 24th, 2008, 06:11 AM
Hi, I'm having some trouble after installing Intrepid. I'm a linux newbie (first time having installed linux), so sorry in advance about any dumb things I say or do, noobness, etc. :D
First off, when I tried to install Ubuntu with the live CD, the setup would always freeze at different points throughout the installation, even in safe graphics mode. So I tried the alternate (text only) CD, and that worked. I got it all set up okay and everything seems to be working, except that occasionally the system freezes completely (ctrl-alt-F2 doesn't work). This usually happens when there is considerable activity, like opening a program, installing new stuff, scanning for music in Rhythmbox, etc. After many hours of intense googling and messing around, I haven't been able to solve the problem. Here are some things I've tried:

-turning off visual effects ... no change, still freezes
-checking "top" for high CPU % ... no problem here
-monitoring CPU temperature ... no problem
-running memtest overnight ... no problems
-changing boot options (including acpi=off, nolapic, noapic) ... boot errors resulted
-enabling the proprietary Nvidia driver (ver. 177) ... this actually makes the freezing more frequent, I think (maybe my mistake though)
-disabling VSync in the proprietary driver ... didn't help
-turning off powernow and then enabling the proprietary driver ... I don't think this helped, since after doing this I ran "glxgears" and the system froze after about 20 seconds (but the gears did not stop spinning, strangely). Also I'm kind of hesitant to leave powernow off for very long, I don't know if there's any danger to the CPU...