PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to install Ubuntu under window system on desktop??

duan77084
November 23rd, 2008, 11:22 PM
Hi, All:

I am new with Ubuntu. I just downloaded Ubuntu8.10i386 and burned it on CD.

My computer is windows Vista home. I want to install ubuntu without erase my window system. I want both window system and linux in my computer at the same time.

If both systems can exist in one hard drive, is Ubuntu an icon to be acessed on desktop after installation?
Please tell me the exact installing procedures if someone did the samething, which include how to partition harddrve during the installation.

Thanks very much in advance.

Oliver.BS
November 23rd, 2008, 11:24 PM
going to sound very silly here but put the CD in and their will be instruction which will allow to try Ubuntu,Install etc etc but remember to press f12 when booting then boot from CD

binbash
November 23rd, 2008, 11:24 PM
You can install via wubi or normal ubuntu disc if you have additional partition.No you cant open ubuntu with clicking an icon Unless you install the box via virtual machine like virtualbox or vmware etc.

If you want to use both windows and linux, install the box(ubuntu) via virtual machine

damis648
November 23rd, 2008, 11:27 PM