PDA

View Full Version : Did you join Ubuntu/Linux for the acceptance?

blithen
November 23rd, 2008, 10:15 PM
I was watching this video in my Psychology class and they were talking about how people join groups to feel accepted, to feel the belong somewhere. Then they showed a few clips of a few groups that people generally join in to feel accepted, and to my astonishment Linux popped up! And I was just wondering if any of you joined Ubuntu/Linux for that reason, or partly that reason? Because I know the warmth of the community keeps bringing me back to Ubuntu.

beno1990
November 23rd, 2008, 10:18 PM
Well... I started using Linux when I was 13 because I was a nerd. But then, after using more tech-guy type distros like Gentoo, I've settled on Ubuntu as my main distro. Why? I'm not sure, it might be partly because of the warmth of the community around Ubuntu, and also partly because even though I'm a comp-sci student, I prefer distros like Ubuntu which are easy to install and use in comparison (Linus Torvalds has stated he feels the same way).

So I'd say it's 50% technical reasons and 50% community reasons.

chucky chuckaluck
November 23rd, 2008, 10:21 PM
i just hope the groups i did join for acceptance don't know i post here.

unknown03
November 23rd, 2008, 10:24 PM
I joined because I was having trouble booting the LiveCD :guitar:

Swagman
November 23rd, 2008, 10:24 PM
Could be something in that.

I was an Amigan before Ubuntu-ite.

doas777
November 23rd, 2008, 10:26 PM
well, on the psychology level I would say most did it to be different, rather than to gain a sense of sameness or community. that comes later. linux has a deep thread of 1337-ness to it, and that is defeated if too many squares do the same thing.

linux is really for the malcontent. as such I would say we are rebels, and non-conformists, which runs contrary to the proposition that we are seeking a community and that that is why we are drawn to linux.