PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Power cut during package extraction

roopakv
November 23rd, 2008, 03:50 AM
Hi... i am total newbie to ubuntu, for that matter of fact Linux.
I was recently installing ubuntu server 8.04.1 Hardy Heron on a machine... After installing the basic components i required from the cd i rebooted and was into ubuntu...
Here after setting up the network connections...
i then wanted to install desktop GUI over the server to make it easy for handling... (saw the guide given on codejacked.com)
the command i gave was

sudo aptitude update
sudo aptitude install ubuntu-server

First it wanted to download 536MB of installation packages.. it took about 2 and a half hours, after which it started extracting the package. For some reason when the power was disrupted my UPS failed and the computer was turned off.

I turned it on again and now the errors i receive during

sudo aptitude install ubuntu-desktop

dpkg was interupted ,manually run dpkg --configure-a
at least something similar

when i do that it fails and the error is too many errors to be shown...
i tried booting into the gdm it works... but after i enter username and password nothing come up....its stuck there

ive hunted around the net a bit ... and guess my problem is partial extraction of dpkg package...
is it possible to re extract the entire package and re-install..
if it is not possible how do i reset so that i may re-download and install the desktop package... personally i would like to just re-extract as downloading takes forever for me...

Sorry for the loong question
Can someone help this newbie please????

Sef
November 23rd, 2008, 04:08 AM
Could you please copy and paste the error messages when from the terminal, you type or paste this command:

sudo dpkg --configure -a

roopakv
November 24th, 2008, 02:57 PM