PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation cd won't boot, alternatives?

Jerfo
November 22nd, 2008, 07:04 AM
So, first of all, hello everybody!

I'm a total newbie and technology illiterate, so all of this has been rather tough for me... long story short, I tried to install Ubuntu 8.10, first I used the Alternate one but it seems the cd got corrupted (according to what I read, most likely while it was being burnt), so I couldn't install the base system, after several failures I decided to try a new and fresh download, oh and btw, I did md5sum check (but only AFTER I had burnt the cd, I didn't know about that beforehand) and the file was fine.

So I used downloaded the Desktop one (via torrent, in case it matters), did the md5sum before burning, burnt at a dramatically lower speed and tried again, now it got even worse, it wouldn't even boot, basically, this is the error message I got (and I did search quite a bit for an answer but found none that was clear enough, it seemed barely like hypothesis)

disk error 80 ax=4,200 drive 9f

Tried on both drives and both returned the same error message.

So I continued to check around this site and came across this interesting option to install it from the HDD but wasn't truly capable to understand how this hole Lilo or GRUB thing worked; so, if you could provide me with any aid I'd really appreciate it.

tommcd
November 22nd, 2008, 11:32 AM
Some quick googleing indicates that error is likely due to a corrupterd CD. How did you burn the CD? And how did you verify the md5sums? If you are burning from Windows, try using Infra Recorder or Iso Recorder:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BurningIsoHowto
I used Iso Recorder the very first time I burned an Ubuntu CD and it worked well. To verify the md5sums, see this:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM
It is possible to install Ubuntu without a CD. You will need to partition your hard drive first. You can use the GParted live CD for that: