PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [Support Request] Headphones

kellja2001
November 21st, 2008, 05:30 PM
Hey everyone!

Sorry to be a pain, I know a few people have submitted this problem already.

I haven't yet found a response that gives a solution.

I'm using the newest version of Ubuntu (I think its 8.10) and I can't get my headphones to work. Please see the attached movie for a walkthrough of the problem.

My PC is a Sony Vaio VGN-FZ11Z
I'm running Ubuntu on a 110Gb partition and Vista on a 90GB partition.
Both were installed yesterday, so haven't had any time to screw up settings.
I'm using extended desktop (TwinView) in Ubuntu, if you're thinking I'm using 2 different PCs.

Please see the attached video to show you what I have so far:

http://www.kellja2001.co.uk/random/UbuntuAidHeadphones.mpg

I am totally new to Ubuntu, and have limited knowledge of computers (I do want to learn though!), so please keep answers very detailed/comprehensive.

Many thanks in advance!

XxX

kellja2001

NullHead
November 21st, 2008, 05:38 PM
What model is the sound device? You can look in lspci to find out.

kellja2001
November 21st, 2008, 05:47 PM
What model is the sound device? You can look in lspci to find out.

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 0c)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 PCI Express Root Port (rev 0c)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)