PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Desktop with no monitor refuses to boot

Ralen
November 21st, 2008, 03:30 AM
I have a spare computer I've installed ubuntu 8.10 on and planned to use it in conjunction with vnc rather than connect a monitor to it. It refuses to boot without a monitor, however, so I have to connect the monitor to it to boot. Is there any way to keep ubuntu from checking for a monitor when it boots?

**Edit: when I try to boot with no monitor, it stops during boot and displays the "Low Graphics Mode" screen until I reattach the monitor and continue the boot process

Ralen
November 22nd, 2008, 02:51 AM
Any suggestions would be appreciated. I'm totally new to linux, and my local contacts are not readily available.

Ralen
November 23rd, 2008, 03:54 AM
bump [11/22 21:00]

shcaesar
November 23rd, 2008, 08:20 AM
Here is my suggestion: google xorg.conf.
If I was right, you can disable X to check you monitor by doing some modifications to the file xorg.conf, which defines basic things of your monitor, screen and input devices.

Ralen
November 24th, 2008, 06:48 PM
I found this page [http://www.x.org/archive/X11R6.8.0/doc/xorg.conf.5.html] but didn't find anything about skipping the monitor check. I've worked around the problem by running a cable to my tv, so technically it has a monitor now.

Coreigh
November 24th, 2008, 06:54 PM
Do you need a graphical desktop or will this be a file/web server?

Do a google search for Ubuntu headless desktop or Ubuntu headless server

You could try disabling gdm, but again this will disable the graphical desktop.

Ralen
November 27th, 2008, 04:36 PM
ya I do want the GUI intact so I can use vnc to connect

philly4
January 3rd, 2009, 01:37 AM
Bump, cause I'm in the exact same boat. I'd love to find some way for Ubuntu to skip the monitor check. I just want to access the desktop remotely with my other computer. Thanks to anyone for some help.

Jose Catre-Vandis
January 3rd, 2009, 06:14 PM