PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu Installation

anshul
November 20th, 2008, 06:23 PM
Hi i am new to linux had never used it before always used windows in pc nw i just need a change so i want some help
my system configuration is
System Model: D945GCR_
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz (2 CPUs)
Memory: 2046MB RAM
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS
Display Memory: 512.0 MB
so wud plz tel which version of ubuntu shall i download tats suit to my pc
thanks in advance

icanfly0307
November 20th, 2008, 06:32 PM
There really aren't versions of Ubuntu. Just download Ubuntu from here (http://mirrors.us.kernel.org/ubuntu-releases/intrepid/ubuntu-8.10-desktop-amd64.iso) (the download will start automatically), burn it to a cd, and install it. Good Luck! :)

anshul
November 20th, 2008, 06:38 PM
There really aren't versions of Ubuntu. Just download Ubuntu from here (the download will start automatically), burn it to a cd, and install it. Good Luck!
and wat about installing my motherboard drivers i dnt think they for linux also ??

anshul
November 20th, 2008, 06:40 PM
and ya any1 plz tell me about its partions i need to instal a fresh copy in my pc

quimico69
November 20th, 2008, 06:41 PM
Even though your cpu is 64-bit, you might want to consider downloading a 32-bit version if you want to install things like firefox plugins and other software that is not available for 64-bit platforms (ubuntu-8.04.1-desktop-i386.iso or ubuntu-8.10-desktop-i386.iso).

Otherwise, you should get the Ubuntu 8.10 or 8.04 for 64 bit. Look for the iso ending in *amd64.iso (ubuntu-8.04.1-desktop-amd64.iso or ubuntu-8.10-desktop-amd64.iso) Do not be misled by the bit "amd". It works with intel cpus too.

hope this helps

Victor

anshul
November 20th, 2008, 06:51 PM
can any1 tell me about partitions ?

icanfly0307
November 20th, 2008, 08:17 PM
Hi,