PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Calling it a day!

Yezinki
November 20th, 2008, 02:07 PM
Hello there every one,

I am leaving Ubuntu & the lovely forums here after some 8 months due to the needs / requirements of my profession & switching back to windows.

Had a great time with you all.

Thanks for sharing all your knowledge, experiences,

Regards,

Yezinki.

Johnsie
November 20th, 2008, 02:13 PM
I know how you feel... I'm a programmer and I'm having to use Windows for my day to day tasks. The only good thing is that I set up a server with Ubuntu that hosts the companies portal but I'm only on that when I need to do portal stuff and it doesn't have a gui.

Tom Mann
November 20th, 2008, 02:22 PM
What exactly are your needs and what can OSS do to provide?

Yezinki
November 20th, 2008, 02:22 PM
I spend hrs each day searching for drivers etc & by the start of the day am so drained out no energy left for my patients.

Than most pc peripherals don't have Ubuntu/Linux drivers.

Lastly 90% of the people & my patients use windows.

5% Dual boot.

Rest 5 % are pure Linux users.

I am so dependent on video conferencing with my partners & patients around the globe & they all use windows.

To find a correct driver for a peripheral some times takes weeks or more or at the end one has to use wine.

But I had a great experience with Ubuntu & the forum members.

Regards,

Yezinki.

Yezinki
November 20th, 2008, 02:30 PM
1. Drivers issues.

2. No video conferencing soft wares btw Ubuntu & window users.

& so on.

If I have to use VBOX/wine than why not switch back??

Ascenti0n
November 20th, 2008, 02:31 PM
So long, buddy. I feel your pain. I have been there a few times myself.

I too am in the (seeming minority), where my Ubuntu loaded computer is used for both work/business and pleasure.