PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Automount internal media



rhcm123
November 19th, 2008, 11:57 PM
I have a partition on my main hdd that holds all my data. It's a windows partition, so it's formatted NTFS. I would like to automount that at boot (because my ubuntu partition is very small, 5 gb, all data is stored there) so i dont have to do it through the GNOME panel. It's not particularly hard, just annoying.

THANKS!

taurus
November 20th, 2008, 12:27 AM
Just install ntfs-config.

Applications -> Accessories -> Terminal

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install ntfs-config
gksudo ntfs-config

rhcm123
November 20th, 2008, 01:20 AM
Just install ntfs-config.

Applications -> Accessories -> Terminal

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install ntfs-config
gksudo ntfs-config

ut-oh! "enable write to internal device" is grayed out!"
why could this be?

taurus
November 20th, 2008, 01:24 AM
What happens if you try to mount it by hand from a terminal? Any error message?


sudo mkdir /media/windows
sudo mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /media/windows
Replace /dev/sda1 with the right partition.

rhcm123
November 20th, 2008, 01:31 AM
What happens if you try to mount it by hand from a terminal? Any error message?


sudo mkdir /media/windows
sudo mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /media/windows
Replace /dev/sda1 with the right partition.

it mounts it right away, no problems.
I noticed that, if I would mount it with the GNOME applet, a LAPTOP folder would appear in /media (LAPTOP is the name of the drive in windoz) and if i unmounted it it would vanish.)

taurus
November 20th, 2008, 03:27 AM
Well, you can add an entry in /etc/fstab by hand for your ntfs partition if you wish.


gksudo gedit /etc/fstab
And add this line to the end of it.


/dev/sda1 /media/windows ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0
Save it and exit gedit editing window. Remember, you need to replace /dev/sda1 with the right one or you can use the UUID for that partition. Also, make sure you create that new mount point, /media/windows, or whatever one you want to use.


sudo blkid <-- for UUID
sudo mkdir /media/windows <-- for mount point

rhcm123
November 20th, 2008, 03:33 AM
Thank you, it worked!
Now I actually have a background when i login!
(And with both sda1 and my server automounting, i have to do nothing at login :)!)