PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Alert /dev/disk/by-uuid...does not exist

novice buntu
November 19th, 2008, 05:46 PM
Hi,

Ubuntu 8.10 on Dell Precision T5400 with SAS HDD.

This is my first attempt at installing ubuntu and I have hit a problem. I installed from CD (3 times now) and created new partitions. Grub was installed on /dev/sda1 (/boot). When I boot I get the error:

ALERT! /dev/disk/by-uuid/3.. does not exist. Dropping to a shell.

The link exists and I can mount /dev/sda2.

ls -l
lrwxrwxrwx /dev/disk/by-uuid/3... -> ../../sda2

The cmdline looks correct.

cat /proc/cmdline:
root=UUID=3....8

If I select the recovery mode, the scsi module load and there are messages that
sda: sda1 sda2 sda3
Driver 'sr' needs updating - please use bus_type
[sda] Write protect off ..

However I end up with the same error.

I could use some help now as I am not sure what else to try. I don't know where the rootdelay is set.

caljohnsmith
November 19th, 2008, 06:38 PM
How about when you get the Grub menu on start up, select the first Ubuntu kernel entry, press "e" to edit it, select the "kernel" line, press "e" to edit it, and at the end of the kernel line add "rootdelay=130" similar to:

kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.27-7-generic root=UUID=d0b10c15-66ed-4d1c-b7f6-c1fc131636f7 ro quiet splash rootdelay=130
Press enter to save the change, then "b" to boot. Let me know if that makes any difference. :)

novice buntu
November 19th, 2008, 07:34 PM
Wow, Thanx. That's done it.

I'm trying to get an better idea of the cause and recovery of this.

rootdelay=nn is a command passed to the kernel (not grub) to say wait nn before accessing the partition, Is that correct? I guess I can trail and error to find out the minimum delay I can use.

Thanx again. Much appreciated.

caljohnsmith
November 19th, 2008, 07:47 PM
Wow, Thanx. That's done it.

I'm trying to get an better idea of the cause and recovery of this.