PDA

View Full Version : Operating System Comparisons

CholericKoala
November 19th, 2008, 11:40 AM
So I am in college and I have been using Ubuntu for about 4 months now. Before, I used Windows Vista and XP because they did well for me. One thing about Linux distros is that they have a large community following. The debate between Linux vs Windows vs Mac has been going on for a long time and people are "hardcore" on whatever side they choose. I do not fall into the hardcore side of anything.

I think that Linux, Windows, and Mac are completely different and they all have their places. They all have different attributes and they all contribute to the computing community for the better. I do not feel the need to show evidence of this because I think it just takes a little bit of reasoning and open-mindedness.

So what I was wondering was how the Ubuntu community felt about this. I have seen many Windows bashes already, but also a fair bit of open-mindedness. To me, it is annoying to hear so people talk about how they hate the other distro/OS because of X reason. People use them and seemingly have success, so we should be happy for them right? I used windows for most of my life and probably since I built my rigs from scratch and didnt install useless junk, I never, ever had problems and it ran perfectly. The need for me to use Linux was null, but I'm using it anyway (and posting from it) because it intrigues me and it looks like a fun way to explore the computer world more.