PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] "Starting up..." issue on Hardy

dadslayer
November 19th, 2008, 04:53 AM
Hi guys,

I've been registered for a while and I'm more like an active reader than a poster. I keep browsing the forums everyday to find new stuff to read and also learn from others experiences.

In the last couple of days, however, I've been facing a minor (?) issue with my Ubuntu setup. Every now and then, when my computer boots up and I select Ubuntu to load up (I'm also using Windows XP - I'm a Web developer), I get the "Starting up ..." message... and that's it. Ubuntu won't load. Then, I just go and reboot my PC again, start over and it eventually will pass the "Starting up ..." message.

While this is not what I consider a normal behavior, I was willing to not pay attention to it and just forget about it. Get the message. Reboot. The problem is that now I'm getting this error more often than before (it used to appear every 3-4 days, now I'm being forced to reboot my PC up to 4-5 times before Ubuntu can load properly).

I must mention that I'm really new to Linux so please explain things to me as if I was a 6 yo kid.

Thanks in advance for all your help!

dadslayer
November 20th, 2008, 11:07 PM
Bump!

dadslayer
November 22nd, 2008, 04:20 AM
Anyone? :(

mgangav
November 22nd, 2008, 04:23 AM
Do you remember if you had to install any major upgrade for this problem started to happen. Also, did you notice any other strange things after starting up Ubuntu completely?

dadslayer
November 22nd, 2008, 02:37 PM
Do you remember if you had to install any major upgrade for this problem started to happen.Well, I've been using Ubuntu 8.04 all this time. Haven't upgraded / downgraded to any other distro so far.