PDA

View Full Version : Hey, ya'll!

spcwingo
November 19th, 2008, 04:05 AM
Hi, I'm just stopping by to say hello from Beulah (between Opelika and Valley). I've been fiddling with linux for about 6 months and have finally settled on Ubuntu for my desktop and laptop. I started using Puppy but the pure ease has pushed me to Ubuntu. I still use Puppy on my low-end machines. I look forward to hearing from and meeting ya'll!

sc0g
November 21st, 2008, 03:47 AM
If GNOME becomes too basic for you, install KDE4 :-D

apt-get install kubuntu-desktop

spcwingo
November 21st, 2008, 06:49 AM
If GNOME becomes too basic for you, install KDE4 :-D

apt-get install kubuntu-desktop

Thanks for the advice, but I think I'll stick with Gnome for now. I'm kinda diggin' the look and simplicity. I'm still wet behind the ears with Ubuntu, so I kinda need that right now.

Maverick1712
November 21st, 2008, 06:51 AM
Changing window managers becomes and addiction.

I've gone from Gnome->KDE->AwesomeWM in the past two weeks. I only hope people stop telling me to check more out. (Awesome is sweet by the way)

Cheers, and welcome.

spcwingo
November 21st, 2008, 08:00 AM
I thought about jwm, lxp-icewm, or just plain icewm...the only problem is I'm still pretty green. After I get a little experience under my belt, I might give it a go, but for now, I believe Gnome's the one for me. BTW, Awesomewm looks pretty, well, awesome!

crane
November 24th, 2008, 05:56 PM
I am a Gnome fan. I have tried the others but always come back to Gnome.

y6FgBn)~v
December 2nd, 2008, 04:46 PM
A warm welcome to spcwingo. ):P The tardiness of my reply is due to me being out of town the past few weeks. It's good to be back home. My avatar indicates my Xfce allegiance. :cool:

spcwingo
December 2nd, 2008, 04:54 PM