PDA

View Full Version : [other] Asus EEEpc

emobrad
November 19th, 2008, 12:23 AM
So, I was thinking of getting myself one of those Asus EEE PCs, and I was wondering if anyone would think that's worth it. I can read specs upon specs and it all comes down to, does anyone who has one recommend getting it? Any major issues? I have a $300 limit so that's why I was considering that

aysiu
November 19th, 2008, 01:40 AM
My major issue is that for 100% compatibility and a fast boot-up, you need to use the Xandros Linux that comes with it, but the Xandros that comes with it can be very annoying to deal with. More details on that here:
What’s so bad about the Eee PC Xandros anyway? (http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntucat/whats-so-bad-about-the-eee-pc-xandros-anyway/)

There are ways to get Ubuntu to work on it, but you'll never get the same fast boot time you get with Xandros.

aysiu
November 19th, 2008, 01:41 AM
My major issue is that for 100% compatibility and a fast boot-up, you need to use the Xandros Linux that comes with it, but the Xandros that comes with it can be very annoying to deal with. More details on that here:
What’s so bad about the Eee PC Xandros anyway? (http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntucat/whats-so-bad-about-the-eee-pc-xandros-anyway/)

There are ways to get Ubuntu to work on it, but you'll never get the same fast boot time you get with Xandros.

rsambuca
November 19th, 2008, 01:56 AM
I have been using an eee PC 900 for about six months now and am extremely happy with it (I purchased it prior to the Atom versions were out). I tested a bunch of different distros on it and ended up installing Arch linux permanently. Works perfectly. The one downside with the Celeron based units is the short battery life, but extra long battery life isn't something that I personally require for my use.

silkstone
November 20th, 2008, 06:53 PM