PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] cannot mount volume



ellitsas
November 18th, 2008, 12:02 PM
Hello everyone! i cannot mount my ext drive. what's the command for force mount? thank u all!

ellitsas
November 18th, 2008, 12:03 PM
sorry. forgot to mention that this is what i get when i'm trying to mount the drive: You are not privileged to mount the volume 'NieuwVolume'.

ellitsas
November 18th, 2008, 02:15 PM
problem solved!!!! How do i unmount it now? it won't let me unmount! Heeeeeeeeeeellp

boof1988
November 18th, 2008, 02:57 PM
What command did you use to mount the partition/drive? Then we can figure out how to unmount the drive.

Which OS are you using? Maybe we need to figure out why the drive didn't automount.

ellitsas
November 18th, 2008, 05:34 PM
hello. these r the commands i used to mount the volume!


sudo mkdir /media/sdc1
sudo mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sdc1 /media/sdc1 df -h

i'm using Ubuntu 8.10

ellitsas
November 18th, 2008, 05:36 PM
and now, when i turn my system on and the ext hard drive on it doesn't mount again. i need to do force mount again!

ravinderreddy
November 18th, 2008, 09:38 PM
and now, when i turn my system on and the ext hard drive on it doesn't mount again. i need to do force mount again!

Can you post your /etc/fstab entries. check options for the drive you want to mount on start up. one of the options should be auto.

ellitsas
November 18th, 2008, 09:41 PM
i enter in the terminal etc/fstab and it comes back "permission denied".

ravinderreddy
November 18th, 2008, 10:21 PM
post the result of less /etc/fstab

ellitsas
November 19th, 2008, 04:56 PM
sorry that i didn't reply earlier. my internet connection was off for a whole day almost! so here's what comes out!



# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# /dev/sda1
UUID=41a19cc3-2b15-4b1c-af7a-80f19a4dd92d / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /dev/sda5
UUID=89c63619-5b31-4869-be72-e79b7214acbc none swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /media/sdb1 ntfs defaults 0 0
/dev/sdc1 /media/sdc1 ntfs defaults 0 0
/dev/sda5 /media/sda5 swap defaults 0 0
~
~
~
~
~
(END)

ravinderreddy
November 19th, 2008, 05:42 PM
Can you try this..
change the line /dev/sdc1 with the below line in fstab. you should be a root to edit fstab.
/dev/sdc1 /media/sdc1 ntfs rw,auto 0 0

ellitsas
November 19th, 2008, 06:47 PM
anyone? help? please?

ellitsas
November 19th, 2008, 07:20 PM
how do i become root?

ellitsas
November 19th, 2008, 07:24 PM
i'm sorry but i'm really new in this!

ravinderreddy
November 19th, 2008, 08:04 PM
sudo gedit /etc/fstab

it will open in gui editor. modify fstab as i said earlier.

ellitsas
November 19th, 2008, 08:09 PM
just did it but it still won't mount!

ravinderreddy
November 19th, 2008, 08:14 PM
what is your external drive ..is it not /dev/sdc1. have you rebooted your system?

ellitsas
November 19th, 2008, 08:20 PM
oki rebooted and the drive is already mounted. now, when i say "unmount" it doesn't do it!

ravinderreddy
November 19th, 2008, 08:23 PM
what command you used to unmount?

ellitsas
November 19th, 2008, 08:30 PM
i don't know one. i tried just with a right click on the drive!

ravinderreddy
November 19th, 2008, 08:33 PM
ok..you should be a root to unmount the drive. if you want to allow normal user to mount/unmount then change the line /dev/sdc1..in fstab to

/dev/sdc1 /media/sdc1 ntfs user,rw,auto 0 0

reboot and check.

ellitsas
November 19th, 2008, 09:09 PM
it's still coming up "only root can unmount"...how do i become root?

ravinderreddy
November 19th, 2008, 09:13 PM
have you changed your fstab as i said..?

you can unmount from terminal like..
sudo umount /dev/sdc1

ellitsas
November 19th, 2008, 09:18 PM
i changed it to this:

/dev/sdc1 /media/sdc1 ntfs user,rw,auto 0 0

in terminal it says command not found!

ravinderreddy
November 19th, 2008, 09:20 PM
you have to edit /etc/fstab again

sudo gedit /etc/fstab

ellitsas
November 19th, 2008, 09:22 PM
ok...and write what?

ravinderreddy
November 19th, 2008, 09:23 PM
change the line starting with /dev/sdc1 to
/dev/sdc1 /media/sdc1 ntfs user,rw,auto 0 0

reboot and check.

ellitsas
November 19th, 2008, 09:38 PM
i did it again and it still won't unmount!

ravinderreddy
November 19th, 2008, 09:48 PM
in terminal type this.

sudo umount /dev/sdc1

it should unmount

ellitsas
November 19th, 2008, 09:52 PM
ooookkkkk...i'm really sorry i was typing it wrong! everything is working now! thank u very much!

ravinderreddy
November 19th, 2008, 09:54 PM
no problem.you are welcome.

ellitsas
November 19th, 2008, 09:57 PM
hehee...sorry....i think my machine is crazy now i trie to mount or to unmount again and it says "command not found"

ravinderreddy
November 19th, 2008, 10:15 PM
it seems you are doing something wrong..can you explain how exactly you are trying to mount/unmount?

ravinderreddy
November 19th, 2008, 10:16 PM
has ext drive mounted on startup?

ellitsas
November 19th, 2008, 10:25 PM
everything was perfect. it mounts on startup and before i mounted and unmounted from the terminal. now on the terminal it says "comand unknown" for both !

ellitsas
November 19th, 2008, 10:29 PM
sorry again. there has to be space between mount and the /dev/sdc1 line. i was writing all together. now i got it! thanks again

ravinderreddy
November 19th, 2008, 10:29 PM
can you post the command and it's result

ravinderreddy
November 19th, 2008, 10:37 PM
sorry again. there has to be space between mount and the /dev/sdc1 line. i was writing all together. now i got it! thanks again

ok..no problem