PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] getting JES-3.1 to work on ubuntu

chiefboo
November 17th, 2008, 10:33 PM
hello. newbie here. in my computer science class we are using jython. i just recently installed ubuntu on my desktop and i was trying to get jython working but i've run into a couple of problems.

first i had to install java from their website which was difficult for me hA hA. I wasn't familiar with how to save programs or move files via cle. anyways i saved it in the /usr/bin folder like the java website said to and finally got it working properly with firefox (so i'm assuming java is now properly installed on my ubuntu machine).

i downloaded the jes3.1 package and extracted it to my public folder. the instructions from the website said to run the jes.sh file but every time i try to a prompt asks if i want to display or run the jes.sh file. after i click run nothing appears to happen. after i click display a gnome-terminal (or soemthign which looks exactly like a gnome-terminal pops up).

any ideas?

spiderbatdad
November 17th, 2008, 11:11 PM
I'm guessing the program has not been made executable. navigate to the directory that holds the progam, and run the command
ls -lyou will see, in order of user/group/other, the set of permissions: rwx,rwx,rwx...without commas. If you dont see an x for at least user...the program will not run.
sudo chmod +x jes.sh

Also run the program from the terminal
./jes.sh

chiefboo
November 19th, 2008, 10:44 PM
JES.sh is executable for user (everyone actually). Strange thing is whenever I am in the directory /home/chihbu/Public/jes-3-1 (the directory i saved the extracted jes folder to) it says

bash: ./JES.sh: /bin/sh^M: bad interpreter: No such file or directory

The instructions on the website i downloaded it from didn't really specify where I needed to save the extracted jes3.1 folder but maybe they assumed everyone would know what they were doing. Does it matter where i save the folder?