PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 6.06 wifi won't work

MrCr0
November 17th, 2008, 06:50 PM
I wasn't sure whether to put this thread here (Absolute Beginner Talk) or in the networking section. I put it here since I am a noob and have a noob question. I'm 17. I'm a long time mac user. Recently got a laptop with Vista pre-installed. Didn't like it. Found an old copy of Dapper Drake (Ubuntu 6.06) lying around. Decided to completely replace Vista with Ubuntu. Once installed, I found that I wasn't connected to the internet. I can't update to 8.10 without internet access. I use a wifi connection. Checked system documentation. Tried going to system > administration > networking. Under "connections" I only saw "modem connection". I tried to follow the documentation by clicking "properties". Couldn't find anything there. Next I tried typing my ip address in random places, hoping it would make the internet work. Nothing happened. Since I don't know anything about networking and am new to Ubuntu, I have no idea what to do. Any ideas? I don't want to have to install windows just to access the internet.

DGortze380
November 17th, 2008, 06:59 PM