PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] new install on old Dell laptop

kirby-u
November 16th, 2008, 03:12 PM
Hi,
I'm new to ubuntu and also re-formatting. I was trying to reformat my old Dell Inspiron 8200 for ubuntu and ran into a major problem. When it was installing the base, it stopped at "linux-generic" kernel. It won't really do anything now. I know that's the important part. can anyone help?

It did ask me to look at the log at a certain location. I don't know how to do that for more details.

Thank you for any help.

Well wishes.

PS I am using the alternative boot install for i386 since my laptop is so old.

kirby-u
November 17th, 2008, 04:11 AM
I tried to install 8.04 after an un-successful attempt at installing 8.10.

This time, during the base install, the locales were corrupt, so I went forward without them. And, at 83% of the base install-- just as it did with the 8.10 version attempt-- the 'linux-generic' kernel failed to load.

Why would the linux-generic kernel fail to load? Would this be a bad burn on the boot CD? Should I just try to burn the image slower?

Also, can anyone explain to me how to get here:
/var/log/syslog or the virtual console 4 -- in order to see the log for more clues?

What I know about my old laptop:

30 GB hard-drive
old OS: Win XP Pro
256 mb RAM

I have been using the alternate installers for i386 for all of my attempts at installing ubuntu.

If anyone can offer any guidance, I will be very appreciative.

Thank you in advance.

D C Ross
November 20th, 2008, 03:00 AM
For what it's worth I just did a clean install of 8.10 on an Inspiron 8200. I just booted off of the regular CD in the internal drive and ran through all of the usual choices and it ran with no problems.

Once the installer was finished I did have some troubles with power management and suspend mode not working, but aside from that everything was smooth.