PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Acer 1916W



steele242
November 15th, 2008, 11:15 PM
I have a box all set up with 8.04 using an old Dell 17" CRT. I went to switch the monitor to an Acer 1916W and the computer boots but nothing at all on the screen, not even the BIOS information. I switch back to the Dell and everything works fine. The Acer works fine on my XP machine also.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Duck2006
November 15th, 2008, 11:30 PM
These may help.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=704635
http://ohioloco.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=972511

steele242
November 15th, 2008, 11:39 PM
Thanks Duck2006 but I get nothing on the monitor when hooked to the Acer. I just get the "No Signal" then nada. When I put the box back on the old Dell monitor everything works fine.

Can I do this fix with the Dell attached then use the Acer or will it mess up the Dell display and I'm SOL?

Thanks again...I'm trying to learn this for work and I've always wanted to try Linux.

Duck2006
November 15th, 2008, 11:43 PM
With the Acer 1916W hocked up can you boot in safe graphical mode?

steele242
November 15th, 2008, 11:48 PM
Nope. I get no options at all. Just the "no signal" and nothing. That's what is bugging me...not even the BIOS screen.

Thanks

Duck2006
November 15th, 2008, 11:53 PM
You may have to set it up in BOIS or in ubuntu first.

steele242
November 16th, 2008, 12:03 AM
There is really no option in the BIOS and I had this machine with a different hard drive (XP) running the Acer fine. I just put in a new drive and loaded Ubuntu and now I get this. I'll try the Ubuntu fix you have and see what happens.

Thanks again.

steele242
November 16th, 2008, 09:26 PM
Still nothing...not even a BIOS splash screen.

Anyone else have any ideas?

Thanks

BGrigg
November 16th, 2008, 09:44 PM
I have the same monitor on one computer, and have no problems. Have you checked the connections on the monitor?

steele242
November 16th, 2008, 09:53 PM
yes...both monitors work fine when hooked to my XP box. It's just the combination of the Ubuntu box and Acer monitor that will not work.

Do you think if I tried the boot cd it may run?