PDA

View Full Version : Again on pulse and alsa

zibi
November 15th, 2008, 02:30 PM
Hi all!
I would like to address the question of the sound server.

After my upgrade to ibex I was having problems with skype which I didn't menaged to fix them until I decided to remove this damned pulse audio.

I than goobunted around and I end up in the ubuntu brainstorm where the issue is considered.

Basically people say that to have pulse by default (even if messy to some extent now) will produce many benefit in future: it is a cross platform driver (or whatever it is) and cross-platform programmers will have less trouble in releasing linux verion of softwares involving sound menagement.

This is actually great. Still I want to underscore that:

1) I suppose to be a rater normal user: I'm not a programmer but if I have troubles I don't mind spending a couple of hours (maybe more) trying to look for a fix for my machine. I'm not scared of command line and I like to understand a little of how my beloved oS works.
Still it is quite messy not to have basic features like sound working out of the box. In particular, it's a shame to recommend people to switch to ubuntu, as the risk is that they end up saying <<Win was better>>.

2) The esound server rocks if compared with pulse. I mean that independetly of application NOT working, pulse have lower performance w.r.t. esound. I'm listening righ now to some mp3 on my 15 euro headpones, played with audacious. And the sound is rather clean. On the contrary with pulse I couldn't higer the volume too much otherwise hiss crack pop and whatever else.

So: First of all vote for this
http://brainstorm.ubuntu.com/idea/129/
a gui sound configurator

Then. I pray the developers to bring pulse to a level comparable with esond and I hope that proprietary bastards will soon adjust their software to pulse.