PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual boot partition problems



knut100
November 15th, 2008, 02:29 PM
Hi, after Ubuntu suddenly hated me, I decided to format my disk and install Vista in addition to Ubuntu (couldn't install Vista before because of the primary boot-thingy).

But when I installed Ubuntu after Vista and expected to see the GRUB, Ubuntu was nowhere to be found. I've searched around after answers, but I loose track quite easily...

ANYWAY, here is some code I understand might be useful.



ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo fdisk -lu

Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders, total 312581808 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xa3891dab

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 153597465 163830869 5116702+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda2 163830870 205551674 20860402+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda3 205553664 312578047 53512192 b W95 FAT32
/dev/sda4 63 153597464 76798701 7 HPFS/NTFS

Partition table entries are not in disk order

Disk /dev/sdb: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders, total 312581808 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xa3891da9

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 63 312576704 156288321 7 HPFS/NTFS



ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mount /dev/sda4 /mnt
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ ls -l /mnt
total 4498745
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 24 2006-09-18 21:43 autoexec.bat
-rwxrwxrwx 2 root root 10 2006-09-18 21:43 config.sys
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 0 2006-11-02 13:00 Documents and Settings
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 2146357248 2008-11-15 11:00 hiberfil.sys
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 2460286976 2008-11-15 11:00 pagefile.sys
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4096 2008-11-02 17:46 ProgramData
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8192 2008-11-02 18:06 Program Files
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 0 2008-10-29 21:05 $Recycle.Bin
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 28672 2008-11-15 11:33 System Volume Information
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4096 2008-10-29 21:05 Users
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 24576 2008-11-06 16:29 Windows


OTHER INFO:

sda3 contains some files I'd rather not delete.
Runs Ubuntu 8.04
ACER ASPIRE 7520G with AMD Turion 64 x2



I'd be extremely happy if anyone had a quick solution to this.

bumanie
November 15th, 2008, 02:33 PM
Post the output of
cat /boot/grub/menu.lst

knut100
November 15th, 2008, 02:40 PM
It doesn't work in Live CD boot

If I didn't make that clear;
I don't know if I can or how to boot Ubuntu at this time. only Live CD and Vista

Thanks for fast reply, hope you continue helping

knut100
November 15th, 2008, 02:43 PM
I found the menu.lst after mounting the ubuntu partition


# menu.lst - See: grub(8), info grub, update-grub(8)
# grub-install(8), grub-floppy(8),
# grub-md5-crypt, /usr/share/doc/grub
# and /usr/share/doc/grub-doc/.

## default num
# Set the default entry to the entry number NUM. Numbering starts from 0, and
# the entry number 0 is the default if the command is not used.
#
# You can specify 'saved' instead of a number. In this case, the default entry
# is the entry saved with the command 'savedefault'.
# WARNING: If you are using dmraid do not use 'savedefault' or your
# array will desync and will not let you boot your system.
default 0

## timeout sec
# Set a timeout, in SEC seconds, before automatically booting the default entry
# (normally the first entry defined).
timeout 10

## hiddenmenu
# Hides the menu by default (press ESC to see the menu)
#hiddenmenu

# Pretty colours
#color cyan/blue white/blue

## password ['--md5'] passwd
# If used in the first section of a menu file, disable all interactive editing
# control (menu entry editor and command-line) and entries protected by the
# command 'lock'
# e.g. password topsecret
# password --md5 $1$gLhU0/$aW78kHK1QfV3P2b2znUoe/
# password topsecret

#
# examples
#
# title Windows 95/98/NT/2000
# root (hd0,0)
# makeactive
# chainloader +1
#
# title Linux
# root (hd0,1)
# kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/hda2 ro
#

#
# Put static boot stanzas before and/or after AUTOMAGIC KERNEL LIST

### BEGIN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST
## lines between the AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST markers will be modified
## by the debian update-grub script except for the default options below

## DO NOT UNCOMMENT THEM, Just edit them to your needs

## ## Start Default Options ##
## default kernel options
## default kernel options for automagic boot options
## If you want special options for specific kernels use kopt_x_y_z
## where x.y.z is kernel version. Minor versions can be omitted.
## e.g. kopt=root=/dev/hda1 ro
## kopt_2_6_8=root=/dev/hdc1 ro
## kopt_2_6_8_2_686=root=/dev/hdc2 ro
# kopt=root=UUID=40ee9f12-41aa-4704-8e3b-62a35185e025 ro

## Setup crashdump menu entries
## e.g. crashdump=1
# crashdump=0

## default grub root device
## e.g. groot=(hd0,0)
# groot=(hd0,1)

## should update-grub create alternative automagic boot options
## e.g. alternative=true
## alternative=false
# alternative=true

## should update-grub lock alternative automagic boot options
## e.g. lockalternative=true
## lockalternative=false
# lockalternative=false

## additional options to use with the default boot option, but not with the
## alternatives
## e.g. defoptions=vga=791 resume=/dev/hda5
# defoptions=quiet splash

## should update-grub lock old automagic boot options
## e.g. lockold=false
## lockold=true
# lockold=false

## Xen hypervisor options to use with the default Xen boot option
# xenhopt=

## Xen Linux kernel options to use with the default Xen boot option
# xenkopt=console=tty0

## altoption boot targets option
## multiple altoptions lines are allowed
## e.g. altoptions=(extra menu suffix) extra boot options
## altoptions=(recovery) single
# altoptions=(recovery mode) single

## controls how many kernels should be put into the menu.lst
## only counts the first occurence of a kernel, not the
## alternative kernel options
## e.g. howmany=all
## howmany=7
# howmany=all

## should update-grub create memtest86 boot option
## e.g. memtest86=true
## memtest86=false
# memtest86=true

## should update-grub adjust the value of the default booted system
## can be true or false
# updatedefaultentry=false

## should update-grub add savedefault to the default options
## can be true or false
# savedefault=false

## ## End Default Options ##

title Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.24-16-generic
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-16-generic root=UUID=40ee9f12-41aa-4704-8e3b-62a35185e025 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-16-generic
quiet

title Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.24-16-generic (recovery mode)
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-16-generic root=UUID=40ee9f12-41aa-4704-8e3b-62a35185e025 ro single
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-16-generic

title Ubuntu 8.04, memtest86+
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/memtest86+.bin
quiet

### END DEBIAN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST

# This is a divider, added to separate the menu items below from the Debian
# ones.
title Other operating systems:
root


# This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for a non-linux OS
# on /dev/sdb1
title Windows Vista/Longhorn (loader)
root (hd1,0)
savedefault
makeactive
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
chainloader +1

Bartender
November 15th, 2008, 02:50 PM
You installed Vista on the second HDD and Ubuntu on the first?

Why would you do that?

What's in sda4? Looks like you've got two Windows installs.

I wonder what would happen if you removed sda and booted from sdb?

I'd suggest starting over. Physically remove sda from the system since it has your personal data on sda3. Burn a bootable CD from a GParted LiveCD (GPLCD) download, use that bootable CD to wipe sdb clean, format to ntfs, then install Windows to sdb.

sdb will now be the new sda as far as Linux is concerned.

I suggest formatting to ntfs before popping in your Windows disc because if you leave it as ext3 Windows won't recognize the drive.

Regarding your personal data on sda3, the drive that you disconnected from the PC...

Use a LiveCD to copy your files from sda3 to external storage of some kind.
Or plug sda back in, and you should be able to view/copy the sda3 files from the Windows environment.
Or take sda to a friend's house, plug it in to their Windows PC, and back up sda3 files.
Or plug sda into a Linux PC and back up the sda3 files.
Or create a FAT partition on the Windows drive and copy the data there.

Once you've backed up your personal data, plug that second HDD back into your system, boot from GPLCD, wipe the drive, and either format it to ext3 for an automatic install of Ubuntu or dice it up to your heart's content for a manual install. That would be the time to create a vfat partition if you want the personal data on the second drive. Pop in your ubuntu install CD. Let it place Stage 1 of GRUB to the Windows MBR on sda1. It'll do this automatically unless you tell it different.

You should end up with Windows on sda, Ubuntu on sdb, and GRUB Stage 1 installed to the Windows MBR. It sounds like you can readily re-install Windows, so the most important aspect is safely backing up that personal data.

knut100
November 15th, 2008, 03:00 PM
The weird thing is that Vista is in sda4 and sdb is just files. Somehow it made boot along the way...


AND at this time, I don't have ANY external back-up possibilities. And it a laptop, so taking the HDD out isn't much of an idea, I think

http://img372.imageshack.us/img372/441/screenshot2ly5.png

bumanie
November 15th, 2008, 03:15 PM
Sorry about the command, I know it won't work off live cd - a lapse on my part - :oops:. However, as you got the /boot/grub/menu.lst anyway, that's good. What is the fat32 and ntfs on drive sda?

knut100
November 15th, 2008, 03:19 PM
sda1: SWAP
sda2: Ubuntu 8.04
sda3: Files which I want to keep
sda4: Vista

sdb: somehow boot and filled with my important ****.

Don't ask me how it got arranged this way :P

bumanie
November 15th, 2008, 03:30 PM
Hmm... That makes a difference - I was thinking vista was on /dev/sdb, but as it's on sda, it is clear that the /boot/grub/menu.lst is wrong. From the ubuntu live cd try this in terminal;

sudo grub
root (hd0,1)
setup (hd0,3)
quitThen restart without the live cd and see what happens - in theory, that should work.

Bartender
November 15th, 2008, 03:33 PM
Oh, sorry, as soon as I saw talk of sda and sdb I just assumed a desktop. It's relatively simple to remove HDD's from a laptop and jack into a desktop but you're probably wanting a solution that doesn't involve disemboweling your lappy.

Thanks for the picture.
I'm a piker at the terminal, but I think bumanie gave you instructions that will tell GRUB to boot from sda4. That should move the bootable flag to sda4.
Interesting that the Vista install is sda4 instead of sda1...

caljohnsmith
November 15th, 2008, 03:33 PM
OK, from your Live CD try:

sudo grub
grub> root (hd0,1)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> quit
Next, it would be a good idea to mark one of your partitions on sda as bootable, because some BIOSes will refuse to boot a drive that doesn't have one partition set as bootable:

sudo fdisk /dev/sda
Press "a", then "4" for the partition, then "w" to write the change, and finally "q" to quit. Then reboot, and hopefully you should get the Grub menu on start up, but selecting one of the OSes might result in a Grub error. See if you at least get the Grub menu though, and we can work from there if you want. :)

caljohnsmith
November 15th, 2008, 03:36 PM
setup (hd0,3)
Please don't do this knut100, because it will install Grub to the boot sector of your Windows partition which is not what you want; you won't be able to boot Windows after that. I'm sure it was a small typo on Bumanie's part. :)

knut100
November 15th, 2008, 03:36 PM
okay, no I'm confused

Give me two minutes :S

knut100
November 15th, 2008, 03:41 PM
Please don't do this knut100, because it will install Grub to the boot sector of your Windows partition which is not what you want; you won't be able to boot Windows after that. I'm sure it was a small typo on Bumanie's part. :)

You're right... I did what bumanie said... I didn't see you reply before it was too late

NOW WHAT DO I DO?

Ubuntu works
Vista says: "Windows failed to start. A recent hardware....."

caljohnsmith
November 15th, 2008, 03:42 PM
OK, I see better what is happening now; from your first post, your Vista partition is missing its necessary boot files, which means most likely they are on the other drive in the sdb1 partition. If you are currently able to boot into Vista, that would mean you are booting the sdb drive on start up. If you follow the commands I gave in my previous post, you should be able to boot your sda drive, but most likely you will first need to go into your BIOS and set the sda drive to boot first on start up (instead of sdb). Give that a shot and let me know how it goes, or if you run into problems. :)

EDIT: Also, don't panic about installing Grub to your Vista partition; we can fix that too with a little effort. You'll need your Vista Install CD, or if you don't have that, you can download a Vista Repair CD from here (http://neosmart.net/blog/2008/download-windows-vista-x64-recovery-disc/). But for the moment, see if you can get your sda drive booting OK, and we can work from there.

bumanie
November 15th, 2008, 03:42 PM
Do as caljonsmith suggests - I think I'm too tired - it's nearly 2 a.m here. Think I'll retire for the night.

knut100
November 15th, 2008, 03:47 PM
Do as caljonsmith suggests - I think I'm too tired - it's nearly 2 a.m here. Think I'll retire for the night.

It's nearly 4 p.m. here in Norway. Thanks for your help anyway =)



Vista booted perfectly before I did Bumaine's edits.
Now it's the other way around.

I'll try what you said.

knut100
November 15th, 2008, 03:55 PM
OK, I see better what is happening now; from your first post, your Vista partition is missing its necessary boot files, which means most likely they are on the other drive in the sdb1 partition. If you are currently able to boot into Vista, that would mean you are booting the sdb drive on start up. If you follow the commands I gave in my previous post, you should be able to boot your sda drive, but most likely you will first need to go into your BIOS and set the sda drive to boot first on start up (instead of sdb). Give that a shot and let me know how it goes, or if you run into problems. :)

EDIT: Also, don't panic about installing Grub to your Vista partition; we can fix that too with a little effort. You'll need your Vista Install CD, or if you don't have that, you can download a Vista Repair CD from here (http://neosmart.net/blog/2008/download-windows-vista-x64-recovery-disc/). But for the moment, see if you can get your sda drive booting OK, and we can work from there.



ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo grub
Probing devices to guess BIOS drives. This may take a long time.

[ Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For
the first word, TAB lists possible command
completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible
completions of a device/filename. ]
grub> root (hd0,1)
root (hd0,1)
grub> setup (hd0)
setup (hd0)
Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists... yes
Checking if "/boot/grub/stage2" exists... yes
Checking if "/boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5" exists... yes
Running "embed /boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5 (hd0)"... 16 sectors are embedded.
succeeded
Running "install /boot/grub/stage1 (hd0) (hd0)1+16 p (hd0,1)/boot/grub/stage2 /boot/grub/menu.lst"... succeeded
Done.
grub> quit
quit
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo fdisk /dev/sda

The number of cylinders for this disk is set to 19457.
There is nothing wrong with that, but this is larger than 1024,
and could in certain setups cause problems with:
1) software that runs at boot time (e.g., old versions of LILO)
2) booting and partitioning software from other OSs
(e.g., DOS FDISK, OS/2 FDISK)

Command (m for help): a
Partition number (1-4): 4

Command (m for help): w
The partition table has been altered!

Calling ioctl() to re-read partition table.

WARNING: Re-reading the partition table failed with error 16: Device or resource busy.
The kernel still uses the old table.
The new table will be used at the next reboot.
Syncing disks.



Is this right? Should I restart?

caljohnsmith
November 15th, 2008, 03:57 PM
Please post the output of:

sudo fdisk -lu
And let me check it really quick before you reboot.

knut100
November 15th, 2008, 03:59 PM
I rebooted, hehe...

Eeh. I'm in Ubuntu now. Let me check fdisk -lu



Only one difference from the first post

sda4 is also boot

Vista won't boot, I have the CD

Mardoct909
November 15th, 2008, 04:07 PM
Your problem is with the MBR (Master Boot Record). When you installed Ubuntu, it set up GRUB. When you install Vista, it removed GRUB in favour of its own booting mechanism. Vista doesn't support multiple OSes, so you're left only able to boot Vista.

Unfortunately, it seems that you ran the command to reinstall GRUB incorrectly (Did you run that command with the typo?) which installed GRUB right over Vista's booting mechanism.

My advice? Backup your files, install Vista THEN - Ubuntu always second so GRUB is set up properly - Ubuntu. This will keep everyone's bootloader intact and listed in GRUB's menu.

caljohnsmith
November 15th, 2008, 04:07 PM
So you successfully booted into your Ubuntu install on sda2, is that true? To fix your Vista partition, you'll need to boot your Vista Install/Recovery CD, go to the command line, and do:

bootrec /fixboot
If for some reason the Vista CD won't let you run that command, then do:

diskpart
And at the diskpart prompt:

list volume
And let me know what it says. We can work from there. :)

knut100
November 15th, 2008, 04:10 PM
I could boot into my Ubuntu BEFORE i did what you asked (after the bumaine-accident).

Now I'm booting the Vista DVD, will keep you updated

bootrec /fixboot
the operation completed successfully

I'm rebooting


...

AND BOOTING INTO VISTA!

NOW IT'S JUST TO CHECK UBUNTU...

which works too!

Thanks a ton for your help.
I hope it continues to work!

knut100
November 15th, 2008, 04:17 PM
Your problem is with the MBR (Master Boot Record). When you installed Ubuntu, it set up GRUB. When you install Vista, it removed GRUB in favour of its own booting mechanism. Vista doesn't support multiple OSes, so you're left only able to boot Vista.

Unfortunately, it seems that you ran the command to reinstall GRUB incorrectly (Did you run that command with the typo?) which installed GRUB right over Vista's booting mechanism.

My advice? Backup your files, install Vista THEN - Ubuntu always second so GRUB is set up properly - Ubuntu. This will keep everyone's bootloader intact and listed in GRUB's menu.


Before I got in this mess (which is now sorted out, without back-up or format) I DID install Vista THEN Ubuntu.
Somewhere I f-ed it up myself =)

Thanks anyway

caljohnsmith
November 15th, 2008, 04:22 PM
That's great news both Ubuntu and Vista are booting now. I should mention though that your Vista is a bit vulnerable the way it is set up right now, because the Vista boot files are on your data partition sdb1, while the main Vista install is on sda4. You could leave everything the way it is right now if you don't want to mess with it, but it would be a lot more ideal to put the Vista boot files back in the Vista partition and just boot Vista directly from sda4, not sdb1. If you want help doing that, let me know.

knut100
November 16th, 2008, 11:56 AM
I would like that.
Where do I start? =)

caljohnsmith
November 16th, 2008, 03:06 PM
OK, I think the easiest way is to "hide" your sdb1 partition so that Vista can't see it, and then simply do a "Vista Repair" from your Vista DVD; that should put Vista's boot files back in sda4. But in case the "Vista Repair" option complains or gives errors, let me know. So begin by first hiding your sdb1 partition:

sudo grub
grub> hide (hd1,0)
grub> quit
Then do the "Vista Repair" from your Vista DVD, and if it goes smoothly without errors, you will need to modify your Grub's menu.lst to boot Windows from sda4 and not sdb1, so do:

gksudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst
And change your current Vista entry to:

title Windows Vista
root (hd0,3)
chainloader +1
After that reboot, and see if you can boot Vista from Grub. Once you are sure that works, you can go ahead and unhide your sdb1 partition so you can access it again:

sudo grub
grub> unhide (hd1,0)
grub> quit
Let me know how it goes or if you run into problems.

knut100
November 16th, 2008, 03:55 PM
After changing Vista entry and reboot into Vista

BOOTMGR is missing
Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart

caljohnsmith
November 16th, 2008, 04:03 PM
So what happened during the Vista Repair? Did it say it was successful? Please provide as much information as possible if you want help troubleshooting. Also, how about posting:

sudo fdisk -lu
So I can check that your sdb1 partition is truly hidden.

knut100
November 16th, 2008, 04:08 PM
I'm sorry.

When I entered Vista Repair, it asked if I wanted to fix an error that it had found. I said "Repair and restart", and it did. So I restarted into Ubuntu, did the Vista entry edit.

The fdisk -lu said

Device sdb1 is Boot (*) and System Hidden HPFS/NTFS


EDIT:
I think I might know what caused the error (I THINK). I left at USB-stick in the laptop as the repair took place. It's now set as Boot (*)...

Can this have something to do with it?

caljohnsmith
November 16th, 2008, 04:14 PM
OK, since the Vista Repair didn't work, how about doing the following, and please post the entire output:

sudo grub
grub> unhide (hd1,0)
grub> quit
sudo mkdir /mnt/sda4 /mnt/sdb1
sudo mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/sda4
sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1
sudo cp /mnt/sdb1/bootmgr* /mnt/sda4
sudo cp -r /mnt/sdb1/boot /mnt/sda4
ls -l /mnt/sdb1
ls -l /mnt/sda4

knut100
November 16th, 2008, 04:18 PM
Did you see my edit?

ERROR


sudo cp -r /mnt/sdb1/boot /mnt/sda4
cp: cannot start '/mnt/sdb1/boot': No such file or directory

caljohnsmith
November 16th, 2008, 04:21 PM
Sounds like your USB stick might now have your Vista boot files. :) For the moment don't worry that your USB is connected, go ahead and proceed with the above commands.

knut100
November 16th, 2008, 04:23 PM
uuuhm, I disconnected the USB device
And now I got the error above.

Sooo...Should I just try Vista Repair again?

(I've hidden hd1,0 already... I'm a rebel...:S)

EDIT:
Vista boots :S

And Vista Startup Repair couldn't find anything


I've unhidden hd1,0/sdb1 again it stills says that mnt/sdb1/boot doesn't exist. What to do, master?


sudo fdisk -lu

Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders, total 312581808 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xa3891dab

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 153597465 163830869 5116702+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda2 163830870 205551674 20860402+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda3 205553664 312578047 53512192 b W95 FAT32
/dev/sda4 * 63 153597464 76798701 7 HPFS/NTFS

Partition table entries are not in disk order

Disk /dev/sdb: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders, total 312581808 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xa3891da9

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 63 312576704 156288321 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdc: 2044 MB, 2044723200 bytes
2 heads, 63 sectors/track, 31695 cylinders, total 3993600 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00a64e86

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdc1 * 32 3993599 1996784 6 FAT16




knut@Knut-PC:~$ ls -l /mnt/sdb1
total 0
knut@Knut-PC:~$ ls -l /mnt/sda4
total 0


$ sudo cp -r /mnt/sdb1/boot /mnt/sda4
cp: cannot stat `/mnt/sdb1/boot': No such file or directory

caljohnsmith
November 16th, 2008, 04:39 PM
Ummm, I don't understand--you say Vista boots now? While you have sdb1 unhidden, how about posting:

sudo mkdir /mnt/sdb1
sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1
ls -l /mnt/sdb1
Where "-l" is a lowercase L, not a one.

knut100
November 16th, 2008, 04:43 PM
Ummm, I don't understand--you say Vista boots now? While you have sdb1 unhidden, how about posting:

sudo mkdir /mnt/sdb1
sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1
ls -l /mnt/sdb1
Where "-l" is a lowercase L, not a one.

While sdb1 is hidden or not?

Anyway it doesn't work

mkdir: cannot create directory 'mnt/sdb1': File exsists

caljohnsmith
November 16th, 2008, 04:49 PM
OK, let's start fresh:

sudo umount /dev/sdb1
Don't worry if that gives a "not mounted" error, proceed with:

sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1
ls -l /mnt/sdb1

P.S. sdb1 should be unhidden, and the command is "umount".

knut100
November 16th, 2008, 04:52 PM
with sdb1 hidden or unhidden?
and should it say umount or unmount?



umount: /dev/sdb1: not mounted
knut@Knut-PC:~$ sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1
knut@Knut-PC:~$ ls -l /mnt/sdb1
total 621
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4096 2008-11-02 16:59 ACER
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4096 2008-05-09 21:20 ANALOGT FOTOGRAFI
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4096 2008-10-14 18:04 BILDER
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4096 2008-11-02 14:50 Boot
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 443912 2008-11-02 13:59 bootmgr
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8192 2008-10-30 07:54 BOOTSECT.BAK
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4096 2008-04-26 19:20 DIGITALT FOTOGRAFI
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8192 2008-05-09 21:22 DOKUMENTER
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 0 2008-09-29 17:18 EDIT
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 65 2008-10-01 18:32 lenke.txt
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 139264 2008-10-14 18:05 LYD
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4265 2008-09-25 18:17 menu.lst
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 0 2008-10-29 22:05 $RECYCLE.BIN
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 0 2008-10-29 22:57 System Volume Information
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4096 2008-09-29 17:18 web

caljohnsmith
November 16th, 2008, 05:00 PM
OK, while sdb1 is still unhidden and mounted, try:

sudo mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/sda4
sudo cp /mnt/sdb1/bootmgr /mnt/sda4
sudo cp -r /mnt/sdb1/Boot /mnt/sda4
ls -l /mnt/sda4
It's OK if the first command says sda4 is all ready mounted, and please post the output of all the commands.

knut100
November 16th, 2008, 05:04 PM
sudo mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/sda4
sudo cp /mnt/sdb1/bootmgr* /mnt/sda4
sudo cp -r /mnt/sdb1/Boot /mnt/sda4
ls -l /mnt/sda4
total 4499181
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 24 2006-09-18 23:43 autoexec.bat
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4096 2008-11-16 17:02 Boot
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 443912 2008-11-16 17:02 bootmgr
-rwxrwxrwx 2 root root 10 2006-09-18 23:43 config.sys
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 0 2006-11-02 14:00 Documents and Settings
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 2146353152 2008-11-16 16:49 hiberfil.sys
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 2460286976 2008-11-16 16:49 pagefile.sys
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4096 2008-11-02 18:46 ProgramData
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8192 2008-11-02 19:06 Program Files
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 0 2008-10-29 22:05 $Recycle.Bin
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 28672 2008-11-15 12:33 System Volume Information
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4096 2008-10-29 22:05 Users
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 24576 2008-11-06 17:29 Windows

caljohnsmith
November 16th, 2008, 05:12 PM
OK that's great, next boot your Vista DVD, go to the command line, and run:

diskpart
And at the diskpart prompt:

list volume
exit
Find the drive letter for Vista from the above commands, probably it will be "C", which we will assume in the next commands, so change it if the drive letter is different:

bcdedit /store C:\boot\bcd /set {default} osdevice boot
bcdedit /store C:\boot\bcd /set {default} device boot
bcdedit /store C:\boot\bcd /set {bootmgr} device boot
bcdedit /store C:\boot\bcd /set {memdiag} device boot
Next reboot, and let me know how far you get when booting Vista from Grub.

P.S. Many thanks to forum member meierfra for providing the above Vista hack.

knut100
November 16th, 2008, 05:26 PM
I'm in. Vista up and running.

Should I post fdisk -l?

sdb1 is boot (*) still.

Should I delete the bootmgr in the sdb1 drive?

caljohnsmith
November 16th, 2008, 05:30 PM
I'm in. Vista up and running.

Should I post fdisk -l?
You don't need to post fdisk at this point since everything is working; just make sure sdb1 is unhidden and you should be good to go. Cheers and have fun with your OSes. :)

P.S. You can delete the "bootmgr" file and "Boot" directory in your sdb1 partition if you want to since you don't need them there any more.

knut100
November 16th, 2008, 05:33 PM
You don't need to post fdisk at this point since everything is working; just make sure sdb1 is unhidden and you should be good to go. Cheers and have fun with your OSes. :)

Thanks for all your help!

I guess everything is where it should be now.

But I still find bootmgr in all my partitions now...