PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to install anything (Mplayer specifically)

phillostrate
November 15th, 2008, 05:23 AM
So I'm brand new to Ubuntu. I've never used anything like this, and I'm finding it to be a little daunting. I really like this OS, but what I don't understand is how to downloand and install programs. I've used windows my entire life, which basically means I've always used a GUI. If I wanted a media player I'd just download it, click on the icons and off I went. If I needed codecs, I was prompted to download them and then they were automatically installed.

I understand that Ubuntu is not Windows. There's more to it. I'm okay with that. I like to learn new things. The problem is I'm not really finding help for seriously absolute beginners like myself.

For instance; I'm trying to get Mplayer. There seems to be a lot of advice out there, but none of it really makes any sense to me. Most of the time somebody just throws up a bunch of code as instructions. I don't know what that means. Do I need to download something, then type the code into the terminal? Do I just type the code? In my research I've found if you want a GUI for Mplayer you have to "build it", you'll also need to find a skin. I'm really confused.

So here's my request for anyone willing to take the time to help me learn how Linux works. I'd like to download and install Mplayer. I need step by step instructions. Pretend you're talking to a child, since clearly I'm not bright enough to grasp this as a functioning adult. Tell me what to download, and to where. Tell me if I need to extract files, and to where. Tell me to open the terminal and what to type, and what I should expect.

By this point it's probably clear to you that I really don't know what I'm doing. But I feel like if I can learn to install Mplayer, it'll go a long way towards understanding how to install other programs.