PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Slow Restart

vondy0
November 14th, 2008, 08:52 PM
I am very new to Linux so I am piecing things together. When I restart my computer it shuts down and then is completely blank and for five minutes. Then it says: acpid: exiting
Then it starts up. When I am at my boot menue there are two four Ubuntu options.
Ubuntu 8.10, Kernel 2-6-27-8-generic
Ubuntu 8.10, Kernel 2-6-27-8-generic (recovery mode)
Ubuntu 8.10, Kernel 2-6-27-7-generic
Ubuntu 8.10, Kernel 2-6-27-7-generic (recovery mode)

My motherboard is a 64 bit ASUS P5Q SE/R if that is needed. Anyone's help would be very appreciated.

mapes12
November 14th, 2008, 09:23 PM
Can't say for certain but it looks like you have installed 8.10 twice? Hence the problem. Have a look at your partitions with a good GUI like GParted. It's on the live CD or from its own website. Also, have a look at the installation guides from Pyschocats in my sig file.

If you can take a screen shot of the GParted results then post here and we will see what we can do to help further. Alternativley,
sudo fdisk -l in Terminal and post here will give us a start.

ajgreeny
November 14th, 2008, 09:34 PM
No, I don't think you have installed twice, I think you have the two kernel versions, the original from installation and the updated version. Note the numbers at the end of the twinned pairs are different, 7 and 8.

However, that doesn't help particularly, and I'm afraid I can't imagine what the problem may be, but it would be very useful to see your hardware. Either just list what you have or if you don't know exactly your hardware, in a terminal type
sudo lshw > hardware.txt and post the hardware.txt file that appears in your /home as an attachment here.

bswilson
November 14th, 2008, 09:39 PM
Just a quick follow-up to mapes12's post. You can get gparted from the Ubuntu Repositories:

sudo apt-get install gparted

mapes12
November 14th, 2008, 09:42 PM
sudo lshw