PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] how do I mount a CD image?



B34ST1Y
November 14th, 2008, 10:36 AM
How do I mount a CD/DVD image? The windows equivalent would be using alcohol 120% or daemon tools to emulate a drive and mount the image...

what's the linux equivalent of that??

bcd87
November 14th, 2008, 10:51 AM
I used two scripts that I found on this (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=87369) page to mount ISO files. Works great :)

Pconfig
November 14th, 2008, 10:53 AM
You could use this one:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AcetoneISO

I don't know if it's in the repo's (at school atm) but i guess it is ;)

B34ST1Y
November 14th, 2008, 11:12 AM
I went to their sourceforge site for the repository...but i'm a little confused. how do I add it to my repository...or how do I get it? (acetoneiso2)

Sirron
November 14th, 2008, 11:16 AM
Debs are available at:

http://www.getdeb.net/app/AcetoneISO

Scroll down, and select the package you need. If you're unsure whether you need 32 bit or 64 bit, the chances are you need the 32 bit.

dmizer
November 14th, 2008, 11:18 AM
No need for a script, or to insall anything.

Just make a directory to mount in.

For example:

mkdir mount
Then you can mount the iso with this command:

sudo mount -o loop file-name.iso mount/

The iso will appear on your desktop.

Edit:
To unmount the iso, use this command:

sudo umount mount/

B34ST1Y
November 14th, 2008, 11:32 AM
WONDERFUL! thank you!

lucasl
November 14th, 2008, 12:41 PM
In Intrepid, you can just right click, open with archive mounter.

Sprocket_dk
November 14th, 2008, 12:50 PM
Also there is gmount-iso (GUI app.)


sudo apt-get install gmountiso

faraz_k86
November 14th, 2008, 12:56 PM
Now this is why I love the ubuntu community. So much help is available here :). Mandriva community, compared to ubuntuforums is almost dead..

k so trying to understand this code:


sudo mount -o loop file-name.iso mount/

-what does the -o mean?

-if i created the mount folder in desktop the will i have to navigate to desktop to mount?
like sudo mount -o ~/Desktop/image.iso mount/


where image is the image file, so is the above command correct?

edit: i forgot the loop.

-what does loop mean in the command?

dmizer
November 14th, 2008, 01:34 PM
Now this is why I love the ubuntu community. So much help is available here :). Mandriva community, compared to ubuntuforums is almost dead..

k so trying to understand this code:



-what does the -o mean?

-if i created the mount folder in desktop the will i have to navigate to desktop to mount?
like sudo mount -o ~/Desktop/image.iso mount/


where image is the image file, so is the above command correct?

edit: i forgot the loop.

-what does loop mean in the command?

-o equals "option"

loop means loop ... since there is no physical device (like a cdrom drive), the computer has to create a software loop to emulate a drive.

more information can be found in:

man mount
(to exit "man" type the letter 'q')

in this code:

sudo mount -o loop ~/Desktop/image.iso mount/
The mount/ is a physical location on your computer. You can use any empty directory of your choice for this.

It might simply be easier to do use this line:

sudo mount -o loop ~/Desktop/image.iso /media/cdrom

To break this down a bit further, what this code does is take the ~/Desktop/image.iso and place it in /media/cdrom (or in my previous example mount/)