PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Tips required for Ubuntu crash course

stube40
November 14th, 2008, 09:58 AM
Hello everyone,

This is my first post, please let me briefly introduce myself - I am an embedded systems engineer with 15 years of experience related to coding of firmware and software in C and C++ across 8-bit, 16-bit and 32-bit (Win32s) systems. I am well versed in Microsoft development environments such as Visual Studio and Embedded Visual C++.

I am starting a new job soon and they are very Linux orientated - I would like to give myself a crash course on Linux to get a head start so as I don't embarrass myself.

I'm currently downloading Ubuntu and will install it on a spare PC I have. After that, I'm looking for tips on exercises I can do that will bring me up to speed in the shortest space of time.

Obviously, they'll be looking to see I can use Linux proficiently, hence command line stuff I imagine is imperative. After that, I imagine it would be good to be able to install a C compiler and compile one of my C or C++ projects and get something useful running.

If anyone has any suggestions, I'd love to hear then.

Thanks alot,
Stuart.

mapes12
November 14th, 2008, 10:46 AM
Hi Stuart

I guess you will be deluged with stuff but here are my suggestions:

http://www.aboutdebian.com/

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/index.php

iponeverything
November 14th, 2008, 11:10 AM