PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to install Sondbird 1.0rc1

chrismja
November 14th, 2008, 05:44 AM
I am pretty new to Ubuntu and have learned/am learning alot, but here is my question: I currently have Songbird 0.7.0 installed and I have downloaded the new Songbird 1.0 rc1 and would like to install it. It is in a compressed .tar.gz format. I know how to extract the files, but I can't figure out how to install it. Can anyone give me any help? Thanks

inobe
November 14th, 2008, 08:45 AM
thats a tough one !

is that a source tar ball ?

if yes then open terminal and cd the directory' then do

./configure
make
make install

you may encounter dependency issues, read the documentation to be aware of what's ahead.

Bops
November 14th, 2008, 10:53 AM
How did you install the 0.7.0??

I have downloaded the tar.gz. file, but i can't install it. I've googled and googled and followed numerous code instructions, but I seem to have some problems with directories or acces to these??

Any help appreiciated.

Thanks

Bo

mc4man
November 14th, 2008, 03:53 PM
How did you install the 0.7.0??

For 0.7 you could just install from the .deb here (hardy 32 bit, links for 64 bit, intrepid on bottom of page
http://www.getdeb.net/search.php?search_distro_id=9&keywords=songbird

Building latest version isn't too involved, ck. songbird home page for info if needed

chrismja
November 14th, 2008, 04:39 PM
thats a tough one !

is that a source tar ball ?

if yes then open terminal and cd the directory' then do

./configure
make
make install

you may encounter dependency issues, read the documentation to be aware of what's ahead.

I've tried installing using these commands, but it doesn't work. I installed 0.7.0 using a .deb file found at getdeb.com, but they don't have the 1.0rc1 on there yet. I've also searched the Songbird website and alot of people are talking about it, so obviously they have been able to install it, but no mention of how to. If I find out, I'll post the info here....