PDA

View Full Version : LaTeX / LyX vs. Word Processing

akniss
December 2nd, 2005, 07:18 PM
Howdy all. There's been some discussion about the ease (or difficulty) of using LaTeX in some academic disciplines in a couple forums. At the suggestion of parktownprawn, I decided to move this discussion here in hopes that new users of LaTeX can get some honest opinions of whether it is the right choice for them. I'll start it off with some of my own observations.

I am pretty new to open source software in general, but my first two experiences were wonderful. The R statistical package, and OpenOffice.org (both under Windows to start, now Ubuntu). I have been using OOo to format my thesis and other technical publications and the use of styles has saved me many hours of formatting. However, the bibliography management aspect of OOo leaves much to be desired.

I recently installed Pybliographic to try and manage my citations more efficiently, and really liked the interface. The next logical step was to try LyX and use it for document formatting. I used LyX to type a publication, but then only hours before a deadline could not figure out how to get the document into a format that my co-authors could read AND edit electronically. (They are not Latex users.) I finally got the paper exported as a .tex document, then used latex2rtf to get things into an editable electronic form, but then all the pretty formatting was gone and rather than saving time, I ended up wasting several hours trying to make up for my poor decision to experiment with a program so close to a deadline.

I would be interested to hear from some of you any advantages or disadvantages of using Latex/Lyx compared to word processors. Opinions will probably vary with respect to discipline, so if you would please mention which field you are in, that may be helpful to others who are debating 'taking the plunge' into Latex.

kleeman
December 2nd, 2005, 07:42 PM