PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] Gnome Desktop Problems



JaJaBinks
November 12th, 2008, 12:06 PM
:confused: Some menu items in System Administration do not work (Hardware Testing, Login Window, Software sources, Synaptics Package manager).

I have tried all manner of things to resolve the situation but to no avail.

Is it Possible to re-install gnome desktop without completely re-installing ubuntu (Hardy Heron)

Thank you
:guitar:

Beth1957
November 12th, 2008, 12:21 PM
:confused: Some menu items in System Administration do not work (Hardware Testing, Login Window, Software sources, Synaptics Package manager).

I have tried all manner of things to resolve the situation but to no avail.

Is it Possible to re-install gnome desktop without completely re-installing ubuntu (Hardy Heron)

Thank you
:guitar:

Ah... it's not just me then... these packages were fine yesterday, and all I've done between using e.g. Synaptics Package Manager yesterday & trying to use it today is to install yesterday's updates.
Oh, and some bit-torrenting.
Running HH on an oldish Lenovo laptop.

Ryadt
November 12th, 2008, 12:25 PM
sudo apt-get install gnome-desktop will install the gnome desktop.

JaJaBinks
November 12th, 2008, 12:32 PM
sudo apt-get install gnome-desktop will install the gnome desktop.

Ahh Thank you for your prompt advice, I was about to try just that, now I can do it with confidence

Thanks again

regards:popcorn:

Beth1957
November 12th, 2008, 12:39 PM
sudo apt-get install gnome-desktop will install the gnome desktop.

Hmm... unfortunately I got

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package gnome-desktop
liz@liz-laptop:~$
:confused:

JaJaBinks
November 12th, 2008, 12:53 PM
sudo apt-get install gnome-desktop will install the gnome desktop.

returned error message E: couldnt find package gnome-desktop

I then ran sudo aptitude reinstall gnome-desktop=2.22.3

this returned,

Couldn't find package "gnome-desktop". However, the following
packages contain "gnome-desktop" in their name:
gnome-desktop-environment gnome-desktop-data libgnome-desktop-dev
gnome-desktop-sharp2 libgnome-desktop-2
Couldn't find package "gnome-desktop". However, the following
packages contain "gnome-desktop" in their name:
gnome-desktop-environment gnome-desktop-data libgnome-desktop-dev
gnome-desktop-sharp2 libgnome-desktop-2
No packages will be installed, upgraded, or removed.
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B of archives. After unpacking 0B will be used.

Its now a matter of deciding which of those listed need to be reinstalled. more research required (I Might try reinstalling gnome-desktop-environment) wish me luck

Idefix82
November 12th, 2008, 12:56 PM
Try

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

JaJaBinks
November 12th, 2008, 01:14 PM
Hmm... unfortunately I got

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package gnome-desktop
liz@liz-laptop:~$
:confused:

No luck yet but i will keep working on it !!!:popcorn:

JaJaBinks
November 12th, 2008, 01:20 PM
Try

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

sudo aptitude reinstall ubuntu-desktop

did the trick. now it remains to be seen if it solve the problem

Thanks again - cheers mate
:)

theDaveTheRave
November 12th, 2008, 01:27 PM
Hello All,

another option for you to try.

Jump to another tty.... a quick explanation.....
when you boot into the gnome you are using tty7, by using the shortcut <ctrl alt F1> or any other F-key for that matter, you will find yourself using an "old fashioned" type login. if you login as normal you can run the majority of the programs from the commad line here. for instance you can start synaptic by typing <sudo aptitude> on this tty.

It is then a simple matter of searching through the subfolders and selecting the <gnome desktop> stuff for re-installation...

In fact whilst I'm writting this you may be able to do the exact same thing from a terminal in your normal ubuntu..

in fact this may give you some errors that will be reported to that terminal window...

so Open a terminal

run



sudo synaptic


and you should be asked for the sudo password and synaptic should start as per usual, then follow instructions above, find gnome-desktop, and mark for complete re-installation.

good luck.

Dave

JaJaBinks
November 13th, 2008, 11:32 AM
Hello All,

another option for you to try.

Jump to another tty.... a quick explanation.....
when you boot into the gnome you are using tty7, by using the shortcut <ctrl alt F1> or any other F-key for that matter, you will find yourself using an "old fashioned" type login. if you login as normal you can run the majority of the programs from the commad line here. for instance you can start synaptic by typing <sudo aptitude> on this tty.

It is then a simple matter of searching through the subfolders and selecting the <gnome desktop> stuff for re-installation...

In fact whilst I'm writting this you may be able to do the exact same thing from a terminal in your normal ubuntu..

in fact this may give you some errors that will be reported to that terminal window...

so Open a terminal

run



sudo synaptic


and you should be asked for the sudo password and synaptic should start as per usual, then follow instructions above, find gnome-desktop, and mark for complete re-installation.

good luck.

Dave

Thanks Dave. that got package manager going.

Ive tried a number of things to get desktop ádministration menus working, including;
reinstalling GDM
Reinstalling synaptic
these using code $sudo aptitude reinstall gdm

Also checked gnome configuration using code $sudo gdmconfig

but still many of the desktop <adminstration> menu commands wont work.

The good think is i Learning a hell of a lot in the process
:lolflag:

Beth1957
November 13th, 2008, 01:21 PM
Try

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

Seems to have done the trick. Thanks! :KS