PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Grub and Vista

Palmada
November 12th, 2008, 01:15 AM
Hello everyone. My problem is somewhat different from other grub and vista issues I've found. I've tried searching the forums and google, but found nothing similar (it could simply be due to lack of wasting enough hours...).

I have a problem with a shy GRUB. I have an ASUS X53 laptop that runs the Kubuntu 8.10 amd64 live cd with almost no problems.

I had Vista, and I want to transition to Kubuntu. So I tried dual-booting. But after a successful install, I reboot and it goes back to Vista without giving me a boot choice. I've then formated the Vista partition (not much love for it), reinstalled Kubuntu and now it simply asks for a boot device. It would appear that GRUB isn't locating itself on the MBR...

I'm fairly new at this whole Linux world...

Can anyone help with an insight? Any help whatsoever is appreciated.

Dazed_75
November 12th, 2008, 01:29 AM
I am a bit puzzled by your description. It says you formatted the Vista partition and THEN installed Kubuntu. It does not say anything about your partition/formatting choices during the install (such as manual, guided using the entire disk, guided - resizing ...). So it is hard to say what transpired. There really was no need to first format the Vista partition.

That said, it is also true that Vista uses a different MBR (Master Boot Record) which refers to a boot program in Vista. If you formatted the partition (which does nothing to the MBR) in a way that that the setup for grub would see that file not existing, it is not clear what would happen.

Finally, since you have wiped Vista anyway, try loading the live CD and doing a scratch Kubuntu install and selecting the option to use the entire disk.

caljohnsmith
November 12th, 2008, 03:15 AM
How about booting your Live CD, open a terminal (applications > accessories > terminal), and posting:

sudo fdisk -lu