PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 8.10 - Different Issues with both 64 bit and 32 bit Live CD

Senator82
November 11th, 2008, 05:02 PM
I am new to Ubuntu and Linux in general. I did give a try to Mandrake Linux back in about 2002 and liked it but I found myself not going in to it much due the ridiculous amount of games I played back then.

Fast foward to last night. I decided to download Ubuntu 8.10 and give the LiveCD a try to make sure all my hardware was compatible. Some odd things happened:

- (8.10 32 bit) Right after the Ubuntu splash screen with the progress bar, the screen just goes black. I think it is booting because when I pushed the power button it went to the Ubuntu shutdown screen. I tried to boot it using safe graphics and it loaded just fine but my network wouldn't work. It got an IP from my router just fine but the connection didn't work.

- (8.10 64 bit) Everything loads fine without having to change to safe graphics but the same network problem as above happens.

Now I decided to try out 8.04 32 bit and everything just worked except I cannot use any desktop effects. I would like to be able to use the latest release.

My relevant specs:
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
2GB RAM
Asus P5K-E MB
ATI Radeon 3850

Any help would be appreciated. I would like to switch to using Ubuntu for most uses and only booting into Windows for .NET development and gaming.

davideotape
November 11th, 2008, 05:08 PM
First of all, I assume that you have a 64-bit processor. If that is the case, then I can see no real reason to use 32 bit ubuntu instead (unless some specific program you want isn't available in 64 bit)

Secondly, are you using a wireless connection or a wired conncection?

If wireless then it is probably the wireless adapter in you pc playing up. Try looking here (http://http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=966436) for any known bugs and their workarounds.

Hope that helps :)

Senator82
November 11th, 2008, 05:18 PM
It is the built in wired connection on my mobo.