PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Share network between ubuntu and windows xp

JohnnyMalakian
November 11th, 2008, 04:11 PM
Hey again, ppl!

I think this problem has been posted already in the forum, but since I can't find it, here goes:

I'm using Ubuntu 8.04 with a DSL modem internet connection, and I'm using a crossover cable to connect to a Windows XP Pro computer. I can get file sharing to work, it is ok, but I still couldn't figure out nor find how to enable internet connection sharing between both PCs.

Keep in mind that I'm still a bit newb in this "IPs configuring" thingies and such lol xD.

Thanks in advance.
Stay cool!
[[[[]]]]/***** :popcorn: :guitar:

EDIT: Please bear in mind that I'm looking for a solution without buying routers and such xP

phidia
November 11th, 2008, 04:51 PM
You want the windows computer to share internet with your linux computer through the crossover cable? If that's not what you want please be more specific.

There are networking guides at the Ubunti wiki here (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/NetworkDevices).

JohnnyMalakian
November 11th, 2008, 04:55 PM
I have the modem connected on the Ubuntu PC, and I access the internet easily. What I want is to be able to access to the internet on the Windows XP computer, in other words, I want to share my internet connection to the Windows pc, 'cause I can't access the internet on that one.

superprash2003
November 11th, 2008, 05:06 PM
easy way to go is through firestarter ( install via synaptic) .it has ICS(Internet connection sharing) feature.. if that doesnt work, do it the command line way http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=91370

JohnnyMalakian
November 11th, 2008, 05:14 PM
I tried Firestarter, but it always gives me the error of "eth0 not ready". Any clues? Thanks for the quick replies, btw! ;)

JohnnyMalakian
November 11th, 2008, 05:46 PM
anyone..? :(
The "eth0 is not ready" error is bugging me lol.

(sorry for the double-post)

Cheers!

irpapabear