PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Why does UBUNTU kill /home ??

RossDV8
November 10th, 2008, 09:33 PM
I have been using other Linux distros for more than 10 years and watched them grow and improve. In nearly all popular distributions when you install, you are offered the choice of reusing the existing /home.

I had been so used to this that I could change versions and distros at will. I do major backups from time to time, but there are some things that are a pain to backup. Mozilla settings and Thunderbird mail are two that come to mind.

I installed Ubuntu ages ago and it was running ok, but I saw 8.10 was out so I decided (silly me) to install it without reading the forum.

First thing was I lost my networking. Looked it up on another computer and found a heap of posts on problems so I found 8.04 and installed that instead.

Now. I kept my /home on a separate partition, but if I install Ubuntu and choose to mount that partition as /home It tries to create its own /home and mount my partition as well. It then comes up with an error "cannot enter /home from root" and goes blank.

I edited fstab from a live CD, but the format is different from other Linux distros, so that didn;t work. So I reinstalled using a few options, which didn;t work either.

I spent an entire day and part of the night and it is still not satisfactory. I have saved most of my data - the stuff that was already backed up mostly.

What I lost was about 6 years of emails in Thunderbird, all my Firefox settings (a lot easier fixed than lost mail) and some of my documents, like my phone book text file. (The latest changes since the last major backup)

I have just downloaded a different Linux distribution, one that installs properly.

I hope someone from Ubuntu development reads these forume and can:
Have a look at the way other distributions install.
Modify Ubuntu to look for an existing /home, as others have done for many years.