PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] gcc can't seem to find includes or link library

EEed
November 10th, 2008, 08:43 PM
gcc can't seem to find includes or link library
I am very new to this!!! I just set up a dual boot Ubuntu laptop using 8.10, truly a very exciting system!!!

While I can compile and run a very simple program, I have now been several days trying to run the first program in the Bluetooth Essentials for Programmers book.

The source: simplescan.c:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <unistd.h>
#include <sys/socket.h>
#include <bluetooth/bluetooth.h>
#include <bluetooth/hci.h>
#include <bluetooth/hci_lib.h>
#include <bluetooth.h>
#include <hci.h>
#include <hci_lib.h>

int main(int argc, char **argv)
{
inquiry_info *devices = NULL;
int max_rsp, num_rsp;
int adapter_id, sock, len, flags;
int i;
char addr[19] = { 0 };
char name[248] = { 0 };

adapter_id = hci_get_route(NULL);
sock = hci_open_dev( adapter_id );
if (adapter_id < 0 || sock < 0) {
perror("opening socket");
exit(1);
}

len = 8;
max_rsp = 255;
flags = IREQ_CACHE_FLUSH;
devices = (inquiry_info*)malloc(max_rsp * sizeof(inquiry_info));

num_rsp = hci_inquiry(adapter_id, len, max_rsp, NULL, &devices,
flags);
if( num_rsp < 0 ) perror("hci_inquiry");

for (i = 0; i < num_rsp; i++) {
ba2str(&(devices+i)->bdaddr, addr);
memset(name, 0, sizeof(name));
if (0 != hci_read_remote_name(sock, &(devices+i)->bdaddr,
sizeof(name), name, 0)) {
strcpy(name, "[unknown]");
}
printf("%s %s\n", addr, name);
}

free( devices );
close( sock );
return 0;
}

Trying to run:

myusername@ubuntu:~$ gcc -o simplescan simplescan.c -lbluetooth
simplescan.c:5:33: error: bluetooth/bluetooth.h: No such file or directory
simplescan.c:6:27: error: bluetooth/hci.h: No such file or directory
simplescan.c:7:31: error: bluetooth/hci_lib.h: No such file or directory
simplescan.c:8:23: error: bluetooth.h: No such file or directory
simplescan.c:9:17: error: hci.h: No such file or directory