PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] "GRUB Hard Disk Error" after installing 8.10 and rebooting

chevweez
November 9th, 2008, 06:56 AM
I am relatively new to Linux and decided to install the new version of Ubuntu today (good bye XP). Before burning the Ubuntu CD I checked the md5 hash and before installing I checked the burned CD using Ubuntu. Both were fine.

Before installing, I ran DBAN (http://www.dban.org/). The install of Ubuntu went smoothly I chose to keep the default partitioning scheme, which is the whole drive running just Linux - no dual booting - nothing fancy. After the install completes, I take the CD out, and it restarts. After my POST, I am left with just:

GRUB Loading stage1.5.
GRUB Hard Disk Error

That's it. Doesn't boot into Linux. Figuring something quirky went wrong during the install, I decided to redo it from the start (not like I have any data to lose). So I DBANed and installed again. Same results.

Searching online I found here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Western_Digital_Raptor#WD740 that the newer version of my HD is "Linux libata drive blacklist[ed]" but I have the older WD740GD, so I don't think that's it.

Thinking it's a GRUB issue I followed the main instructions given here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=224351 Everything went fine - said it succeeded, but when I try to boot to the HD same results above with the Grub error.

What should I do? :confused: Should I try out a different boot loader, like LILO, and if so HOW? Should I redo the install but manually make the partitions using some special guidelines? If I really don't want to have to put Windows back on. Advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

alienexplorers
November 9th, 2008, 12:35 PM