PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Installation Freezes at 15%

cruising
November 8th, 2008, 03:05 PM
Hello Everyone,
I'm fairly new to Ubuntu. After getting the CD from Canonical, I was able to do a complete smooth installation of Ubuntu 8.04. But while trying to do the same thing on a Toshiba TECRA 8100, PIII, 256MB RAM, 12GB HD, 881MHZ, the installation freezes at 15% (detecting file systems) and I have to press the power button to exit that state and start all over again, only to get to the same point AGAIN! I have done this about ten times, over a period of about six days and no luck still. I've looked around for a simple, straight-forward solution fit for a newbie like myself, but I couldn't find any. One thing I noticed is that it says, (just before the installation begins) that the BIOS fails cut ... something like that; but as I understand it, it is complaining that the BIOS is too old and says acpi=force is required. I have used that command too ... but still no luck.

Your help is greatly appreciated and please respond ASAP.

Thanks,

Cruising :o

oilchangeguy
November 8th, 2008, 03:19 PM
Hello Everyone,