PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] link a laptop with desktop computer

mucmicu
November 7th, 2008, 12:28 PM
Hi there

I'm a windows user and I'm really new in GNU world but i wish to learn, and the best method to learn is to read and try. I have home, two computers( a laptop and a desktop). My wish is to have Ubuntu on the desktop machine and Vista on the laptop but to work only from the laptop. I have a router which give us the IP's, so the machines are in a network.

1) Is possible to work only from the laptop and command the desktop computer? As far I've read is about using a samba server. Can you give me a good resource about how to do that?

2) How healthy is for a beginner and my desktop to configure Ubuntu first on my laptop using VMWare and latter to put that image on the desktop?

many thanks

meindian523
November 7th, 2008, 01:40 PM
Hi there

I'm a windows user and I'm really new in GNU world but i wish to learn, and the best method to learn is to read and try. I have home, two computers( a laptop and a desktop). My wish is to have Ubuntu on the desktop machine and Vista on the laptop but to work only from the laptop. I have a router which give us the IP's, so the machines are in a network.

1) Is possible to work only from the laptop and command the desktop computer? As far I've read is about using a samba server. Can you give me a good resource about how to do that?
First of all,welcome.About your questions,
Samba is the answer,but you will have to wait for people who have used it to point you to good resources about how to use it.

2) How healthy is for a beginner and my desktop to configure Ubuntu first on my laptop using VMWare and latter to put that image on the desktop?

many thanks

As a learning experience,probably very good.Do you intend to make a customized install of Ubuntu which you would later transfer to your desktop?

greatgoogamooga
November 7th, 2008, 01:42 PM
Many questions, many answers.