PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] (intrepid) segmentation fault when installing ati catalyst 8.10 in intrepid

raj9786
November 7th, 2008, 03:15 AM
I tried to do a search on this topic but to no avail. So I hvae a dell 8600 with an ATI Radeon Mobility 9600 Pro Trubo. I tried a fresh install of intrepid and now im trying to up my 3D acceleration. I tried the method of installing the 8.10 catalyst drivers shown here: http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Ubuntu_Intrepid_Installation_Guide . However, when I try the command "sudo aticonfig --initial -f " i get the result: "segmentation fault." I'm kind of new to this so I don't know what to do. I have read the the 9600 card is not supported by the new 8.10 catalyst but, in those same threads, I have seen people say they have a 9600 card and got it to work. Any help is appreciated. Thank you!

tikey
November 8th, 2008, 06:17 PM
I have the same problem. I installed the ati drivers from their homepage and running aticonfig --initial -f gives me a segmentation fault. Running fglrxinfo gives me

X Error of failed request: BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
Major opcode of failed request: 143 (GLX)
Minor opcode of failed request: 19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
Serial number of failed request: 10
Current serial number in output stream: 10

Does anyone have an idea?

sub_acoustic
November 9th, 2008, 01:29 PM
I have the same problem. But some people have their ati cards working fine under 8.10 so there is, thankfully, a solution somewhere out there.

brenzosa
November 18th, 2008, 02:56 AM
exactly same problem on my machine - Dell Inspiron 6400 with r5xx (Mobility Radeon X1400) -- segmentation fault when doing the aticonfig part, also tried the new 8.11 Catalyst driver, but same problem there

dvinnen
November 18th, 2008, 07:12 AM