PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] One step forwards, two steps back

SabreWolfy
November 6th, 2008, 10:28 PM
I've been using Ubuntu for many months and I love it. I couldn't possibly go back to using Window$. However, I'm really frustrated with Intrepid at the moment, so I thought I'd see what others have to say.

<rant>
I installed Intrepid fresh onto my Acer Aspire 4710 notebook from the Alternate CD.

Bluetooth appears to be unusable. I've found bug reports (https://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/284982), etc., and that's great, but I can't use bluetooth. ](*,)
Today I tried to print to a PDF document. There were no printers installed by default. I installed CUPS-PDF and spent an hour fighting with it, only to discover (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=969002&highlight=cups-pdf+intrepid) that this works differently in Intrepid (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=957227&highlight=cups-pdf+intrepid)? In fact, it does not appear to work in Intrepid at all. You have to select "Print to file" to make a PDF. Time wasted. ](*,)
I then tried to connect via my VPN. I had previously exported the VPN client settings from Hardy. They would not import. The entire VPN client seems to be different and I could not find corresponding settings. After trying for ages and not being able to connect, I found a bug report (https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/network-manager-pptp/+bug/259168) that it's broken (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=922362&highlight=intrepid+vpn) in Intrepid. More time wasted. ](*,)

How is it possible that basic, fundamental, previously-working features are broken in the latest release of a product? I wasted an entire evening fighting with Intrepid. :frown: Is the old saying of "You get what you pay for" true? Pay for an OS and everything just works? It's on days like this that I want to throw out all my computers!