PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] play dvd iso files on shared win drive

eeeek
November 5th, 2008, 06:19 PM
Sorry if this doesn't belong in the Absolute Beginner Talk, but...

My question regards playing dvd iso files from a shared windows drive.

I am running 8.04 and have a shared windows drive set up. I can successfully view files in this shared drive. In fact, last night, I was able to play a VOB file from this shared drive.

I have done a little reading and found that people seem to have the most success getting iso files to play in VLC. I can't seem to get VLC to see anything off the networked drive. Is this even possible?

I won't be at my home linux computer for a few hours, so I'm going off memory, here.

By the way, I did a hardware test with the old computers I use to experiment with Linux. My current box is an 800mhz Pentium III with 512mb of RAM and it plays video files like a charm. But the old, old computer I have (900mhz Athlon, 384mb RAM) didn't play video so well - lots of skipping, video struggled to keep up with the sound. I thought it was interesting that the greater RAM, but slower CPU played the video better. Neither box can stream video off the internet perfectly, which is unfortunate. Anyways, just a little sidetrip, there.

Any suggestions with playing dvd iso files on my shared windows drive would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

inportb
November 5th, 2008, 06:24 PM
I think you're looking at a networking bottleneck. I experience the same while playing a DVD ISO over a 10mbps connection. You might be able to improve performance slightly by mounting the ISO on the server and sharing the mounted directory instead, but I have a feeling a more reliable network connection might be the kicker.

You can mount a samba share using smbfs, which renders any networking activity transparent.

eeeek
November 5th, 2008, 09:11 PM
Well, from what I can tell, the folder is already mounted. I can browse to it just fine in the file manager.