PDA

View Full Version : Very odd issue: Computer boots automatically at 1am, every day

altonbr
November 5th, 2008, 01:08 AM
I've been working with computers for almost 5 years and almost 2.5 with Linux. In my time, I have never seen a computer that can actually turn itself on.

Anyone see the Simpson's episode where Smithers has a boot screen that has a video of Mr. Burns - presumably naked - saying:

Computer/Mr. Burns: "Hello, Smithers. You're... quite... good... at... turning... me... on.
Smithers to Lisa: "You probably should ignore that...

Its sort of like that, but less funny and more interesting.

For months now, my computer will turn itself on at 1am, every day. If the computer is already turned on at 1am, nothing happens. The only way to fix this is to pull the power cord out every night before bed.

I've tried checking my cron jobs (I have zero, as my user or root), checked the logs (no errors or warning or sign of unlawful entry), had the Internet and no Internet plugged in (can't be a hacker), etc., and it still, without fail, will boot every day at 1am.

I even completely wiped Hardy to upgrade to Intrepid, so this can't be an OS thing.

The only thing I can think of is a broken power supply (with some sort of internal clock (?)) or a broken BIOS.

Has anyone ever experienced a computer that can bootstrap itself?

OutOfReach
November 5th, 2008, 01:12 AM
I know that a lot BIOSes have an option to turn the computer on at a certain time. So you may want to check your BIOS settings.

damis648
That is very wierd... maybe a network card bug and the "wake on lan" option?

Grant A.
http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:u_pbJmQ638laLM:http://www.pcghostdoctor.extra-net.co.uk/ghost-in-computer.jpg

Why not just turn off the surge protector or unplug the computer at night? A simple fix, but effective.

I-75
November 5th, 2008, 01:13 AM
Those darned ghosts.... :-)

kernelhaxor
November 5th, 2008, 01:18 AM